Vonore is a town in Monroe and Blount counties. In 1890, the Atlanta, Knoxville and Northern Railroad laid tracks and built a stopover known as Upton Station. Three years later, Doctor Walter Kennedy applied for a post office for Upton Station. When the postal service informed him that Upton Station had been taken, Kennedy chose the name “Vonore”, a combination of the German word von (meaning “of”) and the English word “ore”, as Kennedy believed the town would become a mining town. The town was incorporated June 21, 1965.
The oldest part of Vonore is on Church Street, the new Vonore is along Hwy 411/33. The town is really pretty when you get off of Hwy 411 and on side roads toward Lake Tellico and the Tennessee River. Hwy 360 is very scenic with a view of the lake to Fort Loudoun and Sequoyah Birthplace Museum.
Vonore Heritage Museum
Artifacts used by the people of Vonore from the late 1800s through the 1950s are on display. Artifacts include Civil War pieces; WWI and WWII uniforms; trophies; plaques; and pictures from the now-closed Vonore High School. 619 Church St.
Fort Loudoun State Historic Park is 1,200-acres and is one of the earliest British fortifications on the western frontier, built in 1756. The fort was reconstructed during the Great Depression.
In the course of the fort’s four-year existence, relations between South Carolina and the Cherokee Nation broke down. In August 1760, the Cherokee captured Fort Loudoun and its garrison. After the surrender in 1760, Fort Loudoun was never used again for any military purpose. It is thought the Cherokees destroyed the fort sometime shortly after the English marched away.
The fort is a short walking distance behind the visitor center/museum. The museum is small but explains the history of the fort. The fort is a self-guided and the buildings have beds, tables, etc. in them.
Historic marker reads: (picture below) One-mile east is a replica of this fort, built 1756 – 57 by South Carolina provincial troops to check the French and strengthen the English influence in the Mississippi Valley. It was besieged by the Cherokee and surrendered August 7, 1760. – 338 Ft Loudon Rd. Off TN Hwy 360
Sequoyah Birthplace Museum
Sequoyah was born circa 1776 at the village of Tuskeegee, which was very near where the Museum is today. His father was Nathaniel Gist, a Virginia fur trader. His mother was Wut-teh, daughter of a Cherokee Chief. In 1821 he completed his independent creation of a Cherokee syllabary making reading and writing in Cherokee possible. – 576 Hwy 360
The museum and land is owned by the Eastern Cherokee Indians. The museum is thorough in explaining the history of the Cherokee people.
Tellico Blockhouse – 1794-1807
An early American outpost located along the Little Tennessee River. Completed in 1794, the blockhouse operated until 1807 with the purpose of keeping the peace between nearby Overhill Cherokee towns and early Euro-American settlers in the area. Blockhouse Road 0ff Hwy 411