Rock Island, Tennesee – So Many Waterfalls

The above picture is of the Great Falls in Rock Island State Park

Spencer to Rock Island 16 miles west.   McMinnville to Rock Island 14 miles north

Rock Island is in Warren County.  The town is named after an island on the Caney Fork River.   Rock Island is home to Rock Island State Park and Great Falls Dam.

The Rock Island community is small with a few charming stores and a couple of restaurants.  There is a metal arch over the road with the name “Rock Island” , this road takes you to Rock Island State Park.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Rock Island Depot Antiques and More
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
The Rustic Touch
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
The Lazy Daisy – Antiques, Collectibles, Furniture & More

Rock Island State Park is an 883-acre park located on the headwaters of Center Hill Lake at the confluence of the Caney Fork, Collins and Rocky Rivers.  The park has 60 campsites and 10 cabins.  The Caney Fork River Gorge contains scenic overlooks, waterfalls and limestone paths.    The waterfalls are beautiful.  The visitor center has a store and maps of the park.

Upon entering the park is the old cotton mill 1892 – 1902, there is a marker there with the history of the mill.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Across the road from the mill is the Spring Castle, with a medieval looking turret. The Spring Castle is an elaborate spring house built when the mill was in operation.  There is a reservoir behind the wall that has a natural spring.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Rapunzel, Rapunzel let down your long hair

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Park in the lot next to the mill to view the waterfalls.  The waterfalls behind the mill have a rugged beauty flowing over the rocks in several places.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

A closer look at Great Falls can be viewed from Power House Rd.  park in the lot and take the stairs down to the falls.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

On Hwy 136/Rock Island Road is a historic marker it reads:  This tavern on the Kentucky – Alabama Road was established by John D. Rodger, veteran of the War of 1812 and of Jackson’s Florida Campaign. He also operated Rodger’s Ferry, 0.4 miles northeast, opposite the island which gave this town its name.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES