The picture above is the Loudon County Courthouse
The distance between Loudon and Lenoir City is 8 miles. Both towns have several antique stores in the towns and on Hwy 11/Lee Hwy between the towns. Check the Lenoir City post for more antique stores.
The town of Loudon began as a ferry and later steamboat stop known as Blair’s Ferry, established by James Blair and his brother-in-law, John Hudson Carmichael, in the 1810s. The town changed its name to “Loudon” during the early 1850s, when it expanded following the arrival of the railroad.
The Lyric is a small theater dating from circa 1922. The theater is still in operation – 320 Grove St.
Annabell’s Emporium Antiques, Gift Shop and Café – 304 Wharf St. – the food in the café is good (picture below)
The General Store Antiques – 411 Mulberry St.
Besides Annabelle’s and the General Store Antiques there is also: Sisters Antiques 810 Mulberry St. & Village Exchange 302 Mialaquo Place
Red Door Galleries – pottery and art – 322 Grove St.
Southern Railroad Depot – now the home of the Chamber of Commerce
Historical side of the Carmichael Inn
The Carmichael Inn was built in circa 1821 and is a two-story rectangular log building which served as a residence as well as a stagecoach and railroad inn. Since early inns offered little privacy to the traveler, guests would have eaten with the Carmichael family, and slept upstairs in one large room wherever there was a vacant spot in any bed. Travelers often shared a bed with a complete stranger. When you enter the period room, you will note the massive fireplace which was used both for heating and cooking. 417 Hwy 321 North
Tennessee Valley Winery – they have won 800 medals for their wine and it is the oldest family owned winery in Tennessee – 15606 Hotchkiss Rd.
Question: According to legend, which famous character from a book set at the time of the Civil War is based on real-life Loudon County resident R.T. Wilson? Answer: Rhett Butler from Margaret Mitchell’s “Gone with the Wind