Lenoir, Tennessee – Lake Capital of the South and Greenback, Tennessee

Lenoir City is nationally known as the “Lake Capital of the South” from the fact the City is surrounded by 3 lakes which have recreational outlets.

The Cherokee called the Lenoir City area Wa’ginsi, and believed it to be the home of a large serpent that brought bad luck to anyone who saw it.  By the early 19th century, Judge David Campbell, had laid claim to part of what is now Lenoir City, where he had built a log cabin and a gristmill.  Also in the early 19th century a 5,000 acre of land was deeded to General William Lenoir as payment for his services in the Revolutionary War. Campbell filed a case against Lenoir in court, arguing he had already laid claim to parts of the Lenoir tract. The case was settled in favor of Lenoir in 1809.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The Lenoir City Museum documents Lenoir City’s past from its earliest settlement by Major William B. Lenoir in the early 1800’s, to the arrival of the railroad at Lenoir’s Station (as it was known until the 1900’s), through the Civil War, and into Lenoir City’s emergence as a city in 1907.  The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. (picture below)

Loudon County Visitors Bureau – 1075 Highway 321 North (picture below)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The distance between Loudon and Lenoir City is 8 miles.  Both towns have several antique stores in the towns and on Lee Hwy/Tn 11. Check out the Loudon post.

Allen’s Antiques & Used Furniture – 103 E. Broadway, Antiques West 113 E Broadway, Bettie’s Antiques & More 100 E. Broadway, Buttermilk Road Antiques & Auction 144 Antique Lane, Goodwin’s Antiques 9900 White Wing Rd., Southern Moose Antiques Marketplace 119 E. Broadway, Victoria’s Antique & Craft Mall – 1200 W. Broadway

Fort Loudoun Dam

The dam is a hydroelectric dam on the Tennessee River in Loudon County. Fort Loudoun Dam is named for Fort Loudoun, a British colonial fort built during the French and Indian War. The fort was named for John Campbell, 4th Earl of Loudoun, commander of British forces during this period.  Fort Loudoun Dam is 122 feet high and stretches 4,190 feet across the Tennessee River. The dam is equipped with a 60-by-360-foot lock that raises and lowers boats about 70 feet between Fort Loudoun Lake and Watts Bar Lake.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

Greenback, Tennessee

Greenback is in Loudon County, the town is 14 miles from Lenoir City.

In 1876, Lorenzo Thompson established Thompson’s Stand, a general store located a few miles east of modern Greenback. In 1882, Thompson applied  for federal post office. He wanted to use the name “Thompson’s Station,” but the name was already in use.  After several other names were rejected, Thompson settled on “Greenback,” a name inspired by a local Greenback Party. In the 1880s the Southern railroad began building a rail line connecting Knoxville to Blue Ridge, Georgia. Developers bought up the land surrounding the railroad’s intersection and had plans to develop a town, initially known as “Allegheny” after the resort hotel to the south. Lots were sold, and a depot was constructed in 1891. Thompson moved his post office, still known as “Greenback,” to the Swanay Brothers Store in the new town. The name “Greenback” gradually came to be favored over “Allegheny,” and the railroad changed the name of the station to “Greenback” in 1897. Greenback was incorporated in 1957.

Greenback Museum – The museum houses a collection of artifacts and memorabilia donated or loaned by local families, businesses and institutions. These include documents, books, pictures, farm tools, household items, telephones, antique radios and business equipment from the 1800s and early 1900s

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Greenback Depot – Built in 1914 by the Louisville and Nashville Railroad, the depot served passengers and freight traveling in and out of the Greenback area until 1954. The depot was renovated in 2010.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES