Gaffney is a city in and the county seat of Cherokee County. Gaffney is known as the “Peach Capital of South Carolina”. The town was named for Michael Gaffney.
The Peachoid is a 135 feet tall water tower, that resembles a peach. The water tower holds one million gallons of water and is located off Peachoid Road (picture above). Millwood Park surrounds the big peach with benches and tables.
Downtown Gaffney has tree-lined streets, railroad tracks run through town with businesses on both sides of the tracks the majority of businesses are service type businesses, there are a couple of stores and several vacant buildings.
Harold’s Restaurant – established in 1932 – featured in Food Networks – Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives – 602 N. Limestone St.
Michael Gaffney Log Cabin – Michael Gaffney was born in Granard Ireland and immigrated to the United States in 1797. After a short period in New York, he set sail for Charleston, South Carolina. He departed Charleston for the upstate and arrived at Smith´s Ford on the Broad River on December 17, 1800. There he met and married Mary “Polly” Smith, daughter of John Smith on July 21, 1803. ( small portion of marker)
Carnegie Library – This Classical Revival building, built in 1913-14 and designed by Arthur W. Hamby, was one of 14 public libraries built in S.C. between 1903 and 1916 with funding from Andrew Carnegie and Carnegie Foundation. In 1938 addition compatible to the original design doubled its size. It served as the Cherokee County Public until 1972 and has housed county offices since that time. The building was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 2000. (see picture below)
In front of the building is the veteran’s memorial and a monument for Col. James Williams – Hero of the battle of Kings Mountain 1780, also historic marker for Carnegie Library. (see picture below)
Visitor Center and Art Gallery – 210 West Frederick St – built in 1912 used to be the post office.
Cherokee County History & Arts Museum – on College Drive in the historic Central Elementary School building. The museum is operated by the Cherokee Historical & Preservation Society and is located on the mustering ground of the South Carolina militia (1812–1914).
Limestone College is a private four-year, coeducational liberal arts college. Limestone was established in 1845 by Thomas Curtis and his son, William Curtis, distinguished scholars born and educated in England. Limestone was the first women’s college in South Carolina.
Marker reads: Founded in 1845 as the Limestone Springs Female High School by Dr. Thomas Curtis and his son Dr. William Curtis, distinguished Baptist clergymen. The school thrived until falling on hard times during the Civil War and Reconstruction. In 1881 the institution was revived by New York benefactor Peter Cooper as Cooper Limestone Institute. Renamed Limestone College in 1898
The Gaffney Premium Outlet with 75 stores, The Big E, Hamricks Store, fast food restaurants, gas stations, and the Possum Trot School are at exit 90 off Interstate 85.
The Big E – family entertainment with movies, miniature golf, bowling, arcade, bumper cars, play land, laser tag and ropes course.
Possum Trot School – front of Hamrick’s store in field. The school was built in 1880 by Tom and Jimmy Pettit. The school was located on farmland in the Midway Community not far from Gaffney. It is one of few remaining one-room schools.