The Town of Waynesville was founded in 1810 by Colonel Robert Love. He donated land for the courthouse, jail, and public square, and named the town after his former commander in the war, General “Mad” Anthony Wayne. The Town of Waynesville was incorporated in 1871. In July 1995, the towns of Hazelwood and Waynesville merged into one community.
Waynesville calls itself the “Gateway to the Smokies”.
Waynesville is a tourist town. This charming town has several blocks of galleries, restaurants and shops. We had a good time walking around and since it is so close to Maggie Valley & The Cataloochee elk, we will be back.
Cedar Hill Studio – the art of Gretchen Clasby – 196 N. Main St.
Burl Wood Art Gallery – furniture, lamps – 184 N. Main Street
Mountain Quilts – “For Everything Quilted” 176 N Main St
Chocolate Bear – truffles, chocolate covered raisins, shooters, etc. 170 N Main St
John Laughter Jewelry – in business 40 years, locally owned, 146 N. Main St.
Sunburst Market – It started as Sunburst Trout Farm and evolved into the market. They have local and non-local products. 142 N. Main St.
Burr Studio – Gallery of Original Art and Craft – 136 N. Main St.
High Country – clothes, purses and accessories – 121 N. Main St.
Affairs of the Heart – jewelry, gifts, home decor, handmade candles, handmade glassware., 120 N. Main St
Christmas is Everyday – cottages, ornaments, tree accessories, etc. Rock building built in 1904. – 113 N. Main St.
Smoky Mountain Dog Bakery – Offering wholesome, tasty dog treats and decorated biscuits they also have cat treats. 102 N. Main St.
Twigs & Leaves Gallery – “where art dances with nature”, gallery features nature-related at and fine crafts of over 145 artists. 98 N. Main St.
Cheddar Box – mountain gourmet food, home décor, etc. 90 N. Main
Gallery 86 – The Haywood County Arts Council’s public gallery, Gallery 86, features rotating works by local, regional and national artists. 86 N. Main St.
Olde Brick House – primitives, flowers, candles, etc. 66 N. Main St.
Mast General Store – several locations, offers a variety of goods. 63 N. Main St
T Pennington Gallery – Teresa Pennington is a self-taught colored pencil artist. She renders the scenery, landmarks, flora and fauna of Western North Carolina, with an emphasis on the Blue Ridge Parkway. 15 N. Main St.
Blue Owl Gallery & Studio – nature inspired art – 11 N. Main St.
Steeplechase English Toffee – Small batches made by hand in copper kettles. I like this toffee. 235 Pigeon St.
Museum of North Carolina Handicrafts, in the historic Shelton House –The front section was built about 1878, with a later two-story rear wing. Stephen Shelton fought in the Civil War & served as sheriff for three terms. A son, Will, served as an Indian Agent. The museum has Will Shelton’s authentic Navajo rugs, and hand-crafted native American pieces. Nice tour of the house, tour guide was very knowledgeable. .49 Shelton St.