Spindale, NC – Small Town with a Big Heart

Spindale is a town in Rutherford County.  Spindale to Rutherfordton is 2 miles, Spindale to Forest City is 4 miles.  Spindale calls the road through town W. Main St., Forest City calls the road E. Main St.

Spindale motto: Small Town with a Big Heart

The two small blocks of buildings are not together on W. Main St.  The buildings face the Thermal Belt Rail-Trail.  From Forest City traveling on W. Main Street the first block of 10 buildings are empty except for two businesses, Cardio Zone and Giles Insurance, you can tell which ones they are because the town put a banner/flag & pots of plants at the curb.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Thermal Belt Rail-Trail – this well-maintained route runs 8 miles from Spindale north to Gilkey, passing through the small towns of Rutherfordton and Ruth. The trail is paved.

Isothermal Community College is in Spindale it is a two-year community college and is named after its location in the thermal belt.

The following businesses are at the second block of buildings on W. Main.

Spindale Drug Company – has been serving Spindale and surrounding areas since 1925 – 109 W. Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Spindazzle – unique gifts, home goods, and current fashion.  111 W. Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SPINDAZZLE

Vassey & Hemphill Jewelers – in business for 70 years. 119 W. Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Barley’s Taproom & Pizzeria – The building was built in the 1920’s.  There are old photographs on the walls of the area. 123 W. Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

B Sharp Music – musical instrument store, they also give lessons.  129 W. Main St.

Fat Tracy’s – barbecue, burgers, sandwiches, fresh-cut fries, and a Friday Rib Night – 135 W. Main

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

American Dairy Goat Assn. – organization started in 1904, have over two million goats registered.  161 W. Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Lakeside Mills – has been producing stone ground corn meal products since 1736. The King family purchased the mill in 1929, they still own the mill, the fifth generation of King’s run the mill now.  398 W. Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES