Rutherfordton is a town in Rutherford County. The town was formed in 1787 to serve as the county seat. The County and Town was named to honor General Griffith Rutherford, a North Carolina politician and general during the Revolutionary War period.
The small town of Rutherfordton is 3 blocks with several vacant buildings. It’s a nice town and the people are friendly.
KidSenses Children’s Interactive Museum – The museum features over 40 interactive exhibits in a 10,000 square-foot space. The museum occupies a building that was previously a “Five and Dime” store in the late 1920s and a car dealership in the 1960s.
Rutherford County Visual Arts Center – Gallery artists work in a variety of art forms and fine crafts. There are paintings, drawings, prints and photographs and works in clay, glass, fiber, wood, and metal. 160 N. Main St.
The Gallery – custom framing, fine arts and crafts. 181 N. Main St.
Main Street Coffee and Ice cream – they also have baked goods. 185 N. Main St.
Tanners – Since 1931 the Tanner name has been synonymous with lady’s fine apparel & accessories. Main Street
Victorian Lace – antique mall – 196 N. Main St.
Carrier House circa 1835 – on National Register of Historical Places
Bechtler Mint Site Historical Park: 342 Gilboa Church Rd.
Christopher Bechtler, his son Augustus, moved to Rutherford County in 1830. Bechtler first opened a jewelry shop in Rutherfordton but soon saw that the lack of currency in western North Carolina was stifling the regional economy. Experienced metalworkers, they developed dies, built a press, and by July 1831 were striking $2.50 (quarter-eagle) and $5.00 (half-eagle) coins in a shop on Hollands Creek 3 1/2 miles north of Rutherfordton. The following year the Bechtler mint began to strike the first gold $1.00 United States coins.
Bechtler’s Mint – Established 1831, four miles N., by Christopher Bechtler. Later stood at this point. Minted more than $2 1/4 million in gold. Closed about 1849.
Christopher Bechtlers House circa 1837 – 130 W. 6t.h St
St. John’s Episcopal Church – Completed in 1847. The oldest original church building standing in Rutherford County. Listed on the National Register of Historical Places. Today, it is the home of Rutherford County Historical Society.