Cliffside, Henrietta, Avondale and Caroleen are on Hwy 221A, the towns are close, total miles from Cliffside to Caroleen is 5 miles. I found the drive interesting reading the historical markers in Henrietta, the depot and dam in Caroleen, and the quilts in Cliffside.
Cliffside is an unincorporated community in Rutherford County. In the 1970s, Cliffside destroyed most of the buildings, a couple of buildings are left.
In October 1889, R. R. Haynes, invested in a mill and helped develop a manufacturing town centered around it. In 1902 the mill was put in operation. The structure was one of the last, and the largest, water powered mills in the state. The year 2005 marked the end of an era for the little town of Cliffside, the old cotton mill, around which the town was built a hundred years before, was razed for its timbers, brick and scrap iron.
Quite a few quilts are on the homes and buildings in Cliffside
Raleigh Rutherford Haynes – Jun 30, 1851 – Feb 6, 1917
Son of Charles Hodge and Sara Walker Haynes. Married Amanda Loretta Carpenter in 1874. They had eight children. After her death in 1890, Haynes married his second wife, Litia Kelly, a school teacher, who died in 1892. He was a visionary who implemented an entire industry along the Second Broad River. He founded, among other things, the town of Cliffside.
Having acquired valuable timber land and a fine water power site at the High Shoals on Second Broad River, R.R. Haynes and associates S.B. Tanner, Sr. and J.S. Spencer of Charlotte began development of Henrietta Mills in 1887. Henrietta Mills and village grew and prospered, and about eight years later Henrietta No. 2 plant was built and named Caroleen.
The site has a chain link fence around it and it is really over grown.
Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy – formerly the Henrietta-Caroleen High School, also known as Tri-High, Tri-Community Elementary, and Chase Middle School, built in 1925 and is on the National Register of Historic Places.
Raleigh Rutherford Haynes also opened a plant in Caroleen.
Caroleen Depot – This spur depot, built around 1895, in Rutherford County was operated primarily for the large textile mill at Caroleen called Henrietta #2. The station was on the route between Lattimore and Forest City at Henrietta Junction.