Brevard, NC – The Land of Waterfalls

Brevard is a city in Transylvania County. The area’s many waterfalls have earned it the nickname, “The Land of Waterfalls”, Brevard is also known for its white squirrels. There are several theories of how they came to live there, including an overturned carnival truck and an escaped pet breeding with native squirrels. The White Squirrel Festival takes place on the Friday, Saturday, and Sunday preceding Memorial Day. It features the white Squirrel, Pisgah Pete, live music, arts & crafts, and food.

The town is a shopper’s paradise with shops, galleries and restaurants.  Nice town, did not see any white squirrels.  I like the metal sculptures around town.

O.P. Taylor – “The coolest toy store on the planet” – 16 S. Broad Street

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
O P TAYLOR TOY STORE

ART Works – is a working studio, gallery, they also offer classes – 27 S. Broad St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
ART WORKS

Penny Lane Exchange – costumes and eclectic items – 32 S. Broad St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
PENNY LANE

Local Color – handcrafted jewelry, wood art, metal art, pottery and repurposed items – 36 SW. Broad St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
LOCAL COLOR

Bracken Mountain Bakery – Owned and operated by the Tellman’s since 1995. 42 S. Broad St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Red Wolf Gallery – Featuring Regional and International Artists and Craftsman – 8 East Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Number 7 Art Gallery – offers a diverse collection of artwork by local Transylvania County Artists.  12 E. Main Street

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Market 36 E. Main – Artisan Grab & Go Market. Featuring prepared foods, Locally sourced & Louisiana products, wine, beer and specialty foods

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
36 MAIN

Brevard Brewing – family owned business, they make the beer and specialize in lagers.  63 E. Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Theophilus – women’s clothing and accessories – 66 E. Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Fox Hollow Gifts – gifts, collectibles and unique seasonal items – 15 W. Main St and Main Street Market Shops

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Spice It To A Tea – teas, spices, rubs, salts and infused olive oils – 64 W. Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SPICE IT TO A TEA

Haen Gallery – in the old Brevard Lumberyard.   Metal sculptures on the outside of the gallery (large picture at top)  200 King Street

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
HAEN GALLERY
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
HAEN GALLERY

The Transylvania Heritage Museum is in a house was built by Thomas D. England in 1890.  Exhibits featuring the people and artifacts of the county.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
TRANSYLVANIA HERITAGE MUSEUM

Mud Dabbers – in and old General Store, circa 1922, the gallery store has pottery from 25 local potters.  The working studio is located next door.  3623 Greenville Hwy – 4 ½ miles South of Brevard

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Mountain Forest Pottery – pottery and fine crafts – 2395 Greenville Hwy.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
MOUNTAIN FOREST POTTERY

Duck Pond Pottery – a working ceramic studio and gallery.  1840 Greenville Hwy

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
DUCK POND POTTERY

Boiling Springs, NC – A University Town

Boiling Springs is a town in Cleveland County.  The towns motto is the “Crossroads of Opportunity”.  The area was settled around 1843, one of the first buildings was Boiling Springs Baptist Church, built in 1847 about 100 yards from the springs. The little village of Boiling Springs was not well-developed,  it was known as a sleepy community, with no railroads, no industries, few stores and no paved streets,  the town grew in the 20th century. The town was incorporated in 1911.  The Baptist boarding school is now Gardner-Webb University, just recently celebrating its centennial year.  The location of the springs is on Gardner-Webb University’s campus.

Boiling Springs is a small town that has a couple of blocks of businesses.  The University is in the center of town and the businesses and houses are around it.  The larger town,  Shelby is 9 miles NE of Boiling Springs.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
ACROSS THE ROAD FROM THE UNIVERSITY

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Gardner-Webb University –   The institution began as a boarding high school and later became a junior college. Today Gardner-Webb is a thriving regional university with growing master’s and doctoral programs. The school was chartered in 1905.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
GARDNER-WEBB UNIVERSITY

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Boiling Springs Museum – original artifacts from the region, recreations and displays, as well as a photographic history of the Town and its residents. Currently, the museum is open only during select events and by appointment. 109 South Main Street

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
PLAQUE ON THE MUSEUM

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Bostic, NC – Was Lincoln Born There?

Bostic is a town in Rutherford County and established in 1893. The population was 386 at the 2010 census.

Bostic is a very small town with a couple of buildings, a town hall, bakery and museum, there is also a Volunteer Fire Department.  The museum is interesting with a nice lady running it.  The Bostic Sunshine Highway runs through the town.  Forest City is 3 miles from Bostic.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
PORCH VIEW MEMORIAL PARK

Some believe that President Abraham Lincoln was born on Puzzle Creek near Bostic. Historians have him born to his mother Nancy Hanks and took the name Lincoln only after Hanks moved to Kentucky with the then infant Abraham.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
PLAQUE IS AT THE MUSEUM

Bostic Lincoln Center Museum – The museum is in the depot.  The museum has exhibits featuring Abraham Lincoln, who they claim was born in the area.  The evidence is compelling with letters and documents supporting the claim.  112 Depot Street

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
IN FRONT OF THE MUSEUM

Bostic has long been a stop for the CSX railroad to exchange crews. There is a Seaboard Coast Line Caboose placed next to the Bostic Lincoln Museum

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Whistle Stop Bakery and Farm Store – they offer fresh baked breads, cakes, cookies, homemade jams and jellies.  158 N Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
TOWN HALL
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
VACANT BUILDING ACROSS FROM TOWN HALL

Washburn General Store – Established in 1831, the five-generation family business has been handed down from founder Benjamin Washburn. 2426 Bostic Sunshine Hwy

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
INSIDE OF STORE

The National Department of the Interior inducted the General Store, the family estate–built in 1913, a classic wooden barn–built in 1915, and ten other buildings as a historic district in 2002.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
WASHBURN HOUSE CIRCA 1913
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
WASHBURN BARN

 

Cliffside, Henrietta and Avondale and Caroleen, North Carolina

Cliffside, Henrietta, Avondale and Caroleen are on Hwy 221A, the towns are close, total miles from Cliffside to Caroleen is 5 miles.  I found the drive interesting reading the historical markers in Henrietta, the depot and dam in Caroleen, and the quilts in Cliffside.

Cliffside, NC

Cliffside is an unincorporated community in Rutherford County.  In the 1970s, Cliffside destroyed most of the buildings, a couple of buildings are left.

In October 1889, R. R. Haynes, invested in a mill and helped develop a manufacturing town centered around it. In 1902 the mill was put in operation. The structure was one of the last, and the largest, water powered mills in the state. The year 2005 marked the end of an era for the little town of Cliffside, the old cotton mill, around which the town was built a hundred years before, was razed for its timbers, brick and scrap iron.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Quite a few quilts are on the homes and buildings in Cliffside

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
ON THE FUNERAL HOME WALL

Raleigh Rutherford Haynes – Jun 30, 1851 – Feb 6, 1917

Son of Charles Hodge and Sara Walker Haynes. Married Amanda Loretta Carpenter in 1874. They had eight children. After her death in 1890, Haynes married his second wife, Litia Kelly, a school teacher, who died in 1892. He was a visionary who implemented an entire industry along the Second Broad River. He founded, among other things, the town of Cliffside.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
MEMORIAL MARKING  WHERE RR HAYNES HOME STOOD

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
HONEYSUCKLE PARK
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SCHOOL CIRCA 1920 – on National Register of Historic Places
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
BEAUTIFUL VACANT CHURCH
Henrietta, NC

Having acquired valuable timber land and a fine water power site at the High Shoals on Second Broad River, R.R. Haynes and associates S.B. Tanner, Sr. and J.S. Spencer of Charlotte began development of Henrietta Mills in 1887. Henrietta Mills and village grew and prospered, and about eight years later Henrietta No. 2 plant was built and named Caroleen.

The site has a chain link fence around it and it is really over grown.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
HARRIS HENRIETTA RD
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
HARRIS HENRIETTA RD
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
DAM AT HIGH SHOALS IRONWORKS VILLAGE
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
BUILDING AT HIGH SHOALS IRONWORKS SITE
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
VACANT STORE MAIN STREET
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
OLD STORE HENRIETTA – MAIN STREET
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
VACANT STORE HENRIETTA – MAIN STREET
Avondale, NC
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Gazebo across the road from Avondale United Methodist Church
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
CHURCH HAS A ROUNDED FRONT – 2596  hwy 221A

Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy – formerly the Henrietta-Caroleen High School, also known as Tri-High, Tri-Community Elementary, and Chase Middle School, built in 1925 and is on the National Register of Historic Places.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Caroleen, NC

Raleigh Rutherford Haynes also opened a plant in Caroleen.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Caroleen Depot – This spur depot, built around 1895, in Rutherford County was operated primarily for the large textile mill at Caroleen called Henrietta #2. The station was on the route between Lattimore and Forest City at Henrietta Junction.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
CAROLEEN DEPOT
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
BESIDE THE DEPOT
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
BESIDE THE DEPOT
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
DAM CAN BE SEEN FROM US HWY 221A
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
POST OFFICE

Lattimore, Lawndale, Double Shoals, Polkville, Kingstown, Five Points, North Carolina

Traveling from one town to the next we went through a lot of nice farm land. Usually this many towns takes us a long time to complete, but we were done in 2 hours, there just wasn’t much to look at and explore.  I saw a bike route sign in Lawndale pointing to Polkville but could not find any more signs.

The towns of Lattimore, Lawndale and Polkville had a lot of vacant buildings and it was obvious that they had active towns in the past.

Lattimore, NC

Lattimore is a town in Cleveland County. The town has had a post office since 1886 and was named for an early settler.  Lattimore was incorporated in 1890. Population was 488 at 2010 census.

Shelby, North Carolina is 8 miles east of Lattimore.  The small town of Lattimore has vacant warehouses and buildings, but the town is still charming. The Hunt Memorial Park in the center of town has gazebos and flowers .  The café and coffee shop wasn’t open on Saturday at 11:00am. Only 2 cars passed me when I was taking pictures, I imagine that everything opens when the college is in session.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
DEPOT ON DEPOT STREET

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
THE DEPOT CAFE
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
FUTURE HOME OF LATTIMORE HISTORICAL MUSEUM

Ambassador Baptist College – Founded by Ron Comfort in 1989.  The mission of the college is to train ministers.  The building that they occupy was an elementary and middle school.  They have added dormitories and purchased the building adjoining the property for a coffee shop and bookstore.  101 Stockton Street

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
AMBASSADOR BAPTIST COLLEGE
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
HIGHER GROUNDS COFFEE SHOP & BOOKSTORE
Kingstown, NC

Kingstown was named to honor Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and was incorporated in 1989.  The town is in Cleveland County.  Population was 681 in 2010 census.

Kingstown Road is the main road through town.  Nice small town, large church when entering the town.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
KINGSTOWN TOWN HALL & SHERIFF OFFICE
Double Shoals, NC

Double Shoals Cotton Mill – Original structure built in 1892 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places.  45,457 sq. ft. former cotton mill on 14.7 acres. 1,478 feet of First Broad River frontage.  199 Old Mill Rd.

There are quite a few mill houses along Old Mill Road, the homes have been well kept.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
COTTON MILL
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
ACROSS FROM MILL
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
DOUBLE SHOALS UNITED METHODIST CHURCH ESTABLISHED IN AUGUST 1857
Lawndale, NC

Lawndale is a town in Cleveland County along the First Broad River. The population was 606 at the 2010 census.  Take Hwy 182 to Polkville.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
MOST OF THE BUILDINGS ARE EMPTY

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
VACANT BUILDING

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Polkville, NC

Polkville is a small city in Cleveland County. The population was 545 at the 2010 census.  Buildings are stretched out along US Hwy 226

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
TOWN HALL

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SALVAGE AND LUMBER
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
ACROSS THE ROAD FROM BINGHAM STORE
Five Points, NC

 

MOUNT HARMONY UNITED METHODIST CHURCH

Congregation organized by 1791. Cemetery and present building, the church’s fourth, are one-mile west.  Marker is on US Hwy 226 NW of Polkville.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

About Mount Harmony Church – Over the years conflicting claims has surfaced regarding which Methodist church was the first to be established west of the Catawba River.  Years earlier Rehobeth Methodist Church in Catawba County had erected a marker claiming the distinction.  Asbury was named as one of several grantees in the 1791 deed conveying two and one-half acres to the Mount Harmony congregation.  Church is on Mount Harmony Church Road.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
IN MEMORY OF THE UNMARKED GRAVES

Ellenboro and Mooresboro, North Carolina

The small towns of Ellenboro and Mooresboro are 4 miles apart on Hwy 74, they both have several businesses that have closed.   Ellenboro is larger they have a school, the Mooresboro school is closed and houses the Town Hall and Sheriffs Satellite office.

Ellenboro

In 1880 the Seaboard Railroad built a line from Wilmington, NC to Rutherfordton. At the highest point on the line, a settlement was started. In 1884 the community was trying to decide on a name for the town, Seaboard engineer John Robinson, proposed that it be named for his daughter, Ellen, who was dying of a fever.

The Ellenboro Train Depot is a museum full of history; not just about trains but items from the past. 124 Depot St

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Town Hall – faces the railroad tracks, a row of crepe myrtle bushes line the tracks to the depot.   163 Depot St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Colfax Gin – primarily operates in the fertilizer and fertilizer materials business.  Been in business for 43 years.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
COLFAX GIN
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
VACANT BUILDING
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
HARDWARE NO LONGER IN BUSINESS

 

Mooresboro

Mooresboro is in Cleveland County.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
FORMER SCHOOL HOUSES TOWN HALL AND SHERIFF’S OFFICE
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
VACANT BUILDING NEXT TO TOWN HALL
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
VACANT BUILDING ACROSS FROM TOWN HALL

Horsehead Corporation – They are the largest zinc producer in the United States with several plants in different cities. Not sure if the plant is still open in Mooresboro the corporation was having financial problems in early 2016.   347 Hicks Grove Rd.

Bat Cave, NC – and No Batman

Bat Cave is an unincorporated community in Henderson County. The community is named after the nearby cave which is inhabited by several species of bats.

Bat Cave, The Village of Chimney Rock and Lake Lure are close together with a total combined distance of 8 miles.  They are on Hwy 64/Main Street.  The Bat Cave Community is small, a few businesses, but mostly homes.

Bat Cave is the largest known granite fissure cave in North America. The main chamber is a dark cathedral more than 300 feet long and approximately 85 feet high. (to protect the bats, the cave is closed to visitors.) Fissure caves are formed by rock splits, boulder movements, and other motions of the earth, while most other caves are formed by water dissolving and abrading rock.

Old Cider Mill – actual working cider press mill.  They have been pressing cider over 35 years.  Gift shop has hand crafted items from local artists and the owner.  The building was built in the early 1900s and housed the 1st original Bat Cave Post Office.  At the intersection of Highways 64 & 74.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Hip Hen – antiques & collectibles- nice lady runs the shop. Hwy 64

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

A Touch In Time – antiques – Hwy 64

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Bat Cave Apple House – Hwy 64

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Chimney Rock, NC – A Quaint and Quirky Village

The small village of Chimney Rock stretches along the Rocky Broad river. Because of the mountainous terrain Main Street is one block wide for most of its length. Main Street. has shops, restaurants, motels and the Chimney Rock State Park.  The Village of Chimney Rock is charming with the rustic looking shops and the view of Chimney Rock Mountain from Main Street

The Village of Chimney Rock is between Lake Lure and Bat Cave on Hwy 64/Main Street.  The towns are close together with a total distance of 8 miles.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
OLD POSTCARD PAINTED ON PUBLIC RESTROOMS
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
MURAL PAINTED ON WALL

Chimney Rock State Park – Visitors have two options for reaching the top of 315-foot-tall Chimney Rock. A 26-story elevator or take a set of 400 wooden stairs and walkways winds up the side of the mountain. Once at the top, visitors can hike one of the trails or return to the parking lot via the elevator or the stairs.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
CHIMNEY ROCK STATE PARK

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Rocky Broad River Walk – Natural walkway, including stone bridges, in the center of Chimney Rock Village. Access to riverfront shops & restaurants along 1/8-mile trail.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Doug Bowman Galleries – hand built furniture & décor – 188 Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
DOUG BOWMAN GALLERIES

Fibber MaGees – Gift shop has women’s clothes and accessories, candles, artwork, pottery and crafts.  The coffee shop features 20 different type of coffee beans.  They also have and Inn.  339 Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
FIBBER MAGEES

Chimney Rock Harley Davidson – riding gear and accessories – 363 Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
CHIMNEY ROCK HARLEY DAVIDSON

April’s Boutique – women’s clothing & accessories – 371 Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
APRIL’S BOUTIQUE

Willow CreekGifts, souvenirs, handmade chocolates, coffee and sweet shop. 375 Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Bubba O’Leary’s General Store & Outfitters – All of what you need & Most of what you want – 385 Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
BUBBA O’LEARY’S
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
INSIDE OF BUBBA O’LEARY’S

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Chimney Rock Gem Mine & Jewelry Co – Two locations. Sterling silver gemstone jewelry, rocks, minerals and fossils. 397 Main St.

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Bayou Billyhomemade soda pop & soft serve in a tin mug – 401 Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
BAYOU BILLY

Hickory Nut Gorge Brewery opening August 2016. 461 Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Lake Lure, NC – Lofty Views, Deep History

Lake Lure is beautiful with a view of the lake and of the mountains.  The town has a nice beach that gets a lot of people.  I loved the town, and there are several restaurants overlooking the lake. The flowering bridge was lovely, so glad they did not tear the bridge down.

Lake Lure is a town in Rutherford County.  In 1902, Dr. Lucius B. Morse and his brothers Hiram and Asahel purchased 64 acres around Chimney Rock.  Lucius Morse’s wife Elizabeth is credited with naming the Lake Lure (and the town). In 1925, the Morse family created Carolina Mountain Power Company and funded the construction of a dam on the Broad River which created Lake Lure. During the Depression the mortgage holder foreclosed on the dam, power company and lake.  In 1965, the town of Lake Lure was able to purchase the dam, power company, and real estate of Lake Lure.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
LOOKING ACROSS THE LAKE AT THE BEACH
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
LAKE LURE INN & SPA – BUILT 1927
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
VETERANS MEMORIAL – IN FRONT OF LAKE LURE INN & SPA

Lake Lure Adventure Company – boat rentals, guided fishing trips, wakeboarding, water skiing, tubing and kayaking.  480 Memorial Hwy.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Lake Lure Municipal Golf Course – The 9-hole Lake Lure Municipal Golf Course is a public golf course that opened in 1927.  658 Memorial Hwy

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Lake Lure Tours – pontoon tours of the lake – 2930 Memorial Hwy.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Morse Park Gardens – The park has beautiful views of the mountains of Hickory Nut Gorge. The park is 23-acres in the center of town at the western end of the lake. A number of events takes place at the park, including Dragon Boat Racing, Dirty Dancing Festival, arts and crafts fairs, car and boat shows and fly fishing tournament.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Lake Lure Flowering Bridge – Lake Lure Flowering Bridge blooms on the historic 1925 Rocky Broad River bridge. When the bridge was closed to traffic in 2011, the Friends of the Lake Lure Flowering Bridge came together to create gardens on the 155 feet of the bridge and along a pathway at both ends of the three-arch span itself. With an emphasis on native plants, the Friends mission is to create a “Gateway to Somewhere Beautiful”.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Welcome Center (below) –

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
PLAQUE AT WELCOME CENTER
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
PLAQUE AT WELCOME CENTER

Rutherfordton, NC – Where the First One-Dollar Gold Coin Was Minted

Rutherfordton is a town in Rutherford County.  The town was formed in 1787 to serve as the county seat.  The County and Town was named to honor General Griffith Rutherford, a North Carolina politician and general during the Revolutionary War period.

The small town of Rutherfordton is 3 blocks with several vacant buildings.  It’s a nice town and the people are friendly.

KidSenses Children’s Interactive Museum – The museum features over 40 interactive exhibits in a 10,000 square-foot space. The museum occupies a building that was previously a “Five and Dime” store in the late 1920s and a car dealership in the 1960s.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Rutherford County Visual Arts Center – Gallery artists work in a variety of art forms and fine crafts. There are paintings, drawings, prints and photographs and works in clay, glass, fiber, wood, and metal. 160 N. Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The Gallery – custom framing, fine arts and crafts. 181 N. Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Main Street Coffee and Ice cream – they also have baked goods. 185 N. Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
MAIN STREET COFFEE

Tanners – Since 1931 the Tanner name has been synonymous with lady’s fine apparel & accessories. Main Street

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
TANNERS

Victorian Lace – antique mall – 196 N. Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
BUILDINGS IN FRONT OF THE COURTHOUSE
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
RUTHERFORD COUNTY COURTHOUSE

Carrier House circa 1835 – on National Register of Historical Places

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Bechtler Mint Site Historical Park:  342 Gilboa Church Rd.

Christopher Bechtler, his son Augustus, moved to Rutherford County in 1830.  Bechtler first opened a jewelry shop in Rutherfordton but soon saw that the lack of currency in western North Carolina was stifling the regional economy.  Experienced metalworkers, they developed dies, built a press, and by July 1831 were striking $2.50 (quarter-eagle) and $5.00 (half-eagle) coins in a shop on Hollands Creek 3 1/2 miles north of Rutherfordton. The following year the Bechtler mint began to strike the first gold $1.00 United States coins.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 Bechtler’s Mint – Established 1831, four miles N., by Christopher Bechtler. Later stood at this point. Minted more than $2 1/4 million in gold. Closed about 1849.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Christopher Bechtlers House circa 1837  – 130 W. 6t.h St

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
BECHTLERS HOUSE – CIRCA 1837

St. John’s Episcopal Church – Completed in 1847.  The oldest original church building standing in Rutherford County.  Listed on the National Register of Historical Places.  Today, it is the home of Rutherford County Historical Society.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
HISTORICAL MARKER IN FRONT OF THE CEMETERY