Flowery Branch is a city in Hall County that was originally named Anaguluskee, a Cherokee Indian word meaning “flowers on the branch.” The town was incorporated January 1, 1874.
The downtown of Flowery Branch is 1 small block of buildings on each side of the street. The town is quaint and charming. Take exit 12 off Interstate 985
The Flowery Branch Historic Train Depot and Museum – they have exhibits, pictures and written material about the town and its 100+ year old Depot.
The Flowery Branch Depot – Cotton, leather and furniture, as well as manufactured items from the region passed through these walls, as did passengers during its working years (c.1890-1970s) as a Richmond & Danville Railroad and Southern Railway System Depot. Sold to the City of Flowery Branch for $1.00 in 1972, the building was later rehabilitated with Federal Transportation Enhancement Funding through the Georgia Department of Transportation, and moved from its original site directly across Railroad Ave. (RR property), to this location, 5302 Railroad Ave. (original site of the Carlisle General Merchandising Building, now City Property). In 2001, the rehabilitated building was dedicated to its new use as a museum and community center. The Depot both educates citizens and gives a special identity to the historic Main Street displaying its significance to Georgia’s railroad and town development history.
It was common for railroads to assign a caboose to a conductor for his exclusive use. Conductors took great pride in their cars. The men decorated their car interiors with many homey touches, including curtains and family photos.
Sample Pleasures Gifts and Antiques – The building was built in 1864. – 5504 Main St.
Calliope Sweets – cakes, cupcakes, cookies, brownies and bars – 5511 Main St.
Growlers on Main – craft beer to go – 5509 Main St.
Common Grounds – coffee and a café, the coffee is good – 5510 Main St.
Liberty Candy Company – they have a large variety of candies, including handmade chocolates and fresh fudge, and nostalgic candies. The building was built in 1906. – 5518 Main St.