Euharlee is a small town in Bartow County. Euharlee to Cartersville 9 miles.
The city of Euharlee takes its name from Euharlee Creek, which comes from the Cherokee name Eufaula, meaning “she laughs as she runs”. In the 1840s the Burges mill was constructed on the creek, and the settlement became known as “Burges Mill”. In 1852 the town incorporated as Euharleyville. In 1870 the town was chartered as Euharlee.
Euharlee retains many of the historic buildings dating to the 1800s, including the covered bridge responsible for coining the slogan “the covered bridge city”.
Euharlee Creek Covered Bridge
In 1886 the county contracted with Washington W. King, son of freed slave and noted bridge builder Horace King, and Jonathan H. Burke for the construction of this 138-foot bridge. It was adjacent to a mill owned by Daniel Lowry, of which the foundation is still evident. This bridge replaced several previous structures, the last having been built two years prior. Constructed in the Town lattice design, the bridge’s web of planks crisscrossing at 45-to 60-degree angles are fastened with wooden pegs, or trunnels, at each intersection.
The Euharlee Welcome Center and History Museum – The museum features an assortment of local artifacts from the early American Indian habitation to an exhibit featuring the area’s Civil War history. On Covered Bridge Road