Auburn is a city in Barrow and Gwinnett counties. Auburn takes its name from that area’s red clay, which early residents used to dye cloth red. Auburn was incorporated in 1892. A plat of the town was drawn and land surveyed by the Seaboard Railroad. Eight warehouses were built on the railroad sides and many new homes and stores were built. There were eight store buildings built on the north side of the railroad, but only the Poole Store (now Auburn City Hall) and the former Auburn Bank/Flanigan’s (now Rawhide Boots).
The town has two blocks of buildings. The buildings face the railroad tracks and the R H Burel park is across the street from the buildings.