Above picture is Fort Hollingsworth – White House
Alto is a small town in Banks and Habersham counties. Originally called Lulah City and Long View. Alto was founded in 1877 and incorporated in 1895, the name is from an Italian word for “high”.
Gainesville Hwy. runs through Alto. The town is mostly houses, with two stores, city hall, police station and post office. This is a really small town.
Jaemor Farms – It is a family owned and operated business. The Echols family has been farming the 350-acre property for more than 100 years. The roadside market has been open for 35 years. They have homemade fresh breads, jams & jellies, pickles, relishes, BBQ sauces, marinades, dressings, pies, ice creams, cakes, boiled peanuts, plants and flowers. 5340 Cornelia Hwy
Sweet Acres Winery – Matthew and Lindsey are the owners and operators of Sweet Acre Farms Winery. They serve fruit and muscadine wine. 7584 Bill Wilson Rd.
Fort Hollingsworth – White House est. 1793 – William Wofford and Jacob Hollingsworth moved from North Carolina to Franklin County, Georgia in 1792. The area where they settled was known as Wofford’s Settlement. When Col. Wofford learned that their settlement was considered to be in Indian territory, he along with other settlers in the area, petitioned Georgia Governor James Jackson to have the line re-drawn, or to take such action to protect them and their possessions from Indian raids.
By about 1796, conflicts with local Indian tribes were no longer a concern and the string of frontier forts were no longer necessary. The forts soon became log farmhouses. Joshua White and Katharine Lane White obtained the fort and made it their home. They built the addition to the two story single pen that had been the fort and made it look like any other farmhouse of the mid 1800’s. The fort/homestead is on the National Register of Historic Places. Fort Hollingsworth-White House looks very much today as it did in the 1860’s. There are several outbuildings, barn, corn crib, cabin, well and main house.
Alto to Baldwin 4 miles on Gainesville Hwy becomes Wallingham Hwy in Baldwin.
Originally known as Stonepile, because of a large pile of stones in the center of town, the stone structure was left by the Cherokees. Baldwin was incorporated in 1896. The town was named Baldwin to honor Joseph A. Baldwin, a railroad official. The town is home to Habersham County Airport.
Downtown Baldwin is one block long on Airport Road. The City of Baldwin takes pride in being “The Hub of Development in Northeast Georgia.”
Mitchell Gailey City Park – nice park