Trion is a town in Northwest Georgia in Chattooga County. In the 1840s the Trion Mills started producing cotton. A post office called Trion Factory opened in 1847, and in 1904 the name was changed to Trion.
Today the town centers around the mill. Highway 27, runs through the eastern part of the town, the businesses are along this highway. Around the mill are the typical mill houses.
In front of the mill there is a historical plaque it reads:
First Cotton Mill in Northwest Georgia – Three Walker County businessmen, Andrew P. Allgood, Spencer S. Marsh and Col. W.K. Briers, officially organized the Trion factory Oct. 12, 1845. It has had few shut-downs since its first production in 1847. In 1858 an epidemic, in 1864 Sherman’s invading Federal Army closed the mill until the end of the War Between the States, fire on April 10, 1876 only shut the mill for six months and a strike for six weeks in 1934. Three families owned and operated the mill through its first 150 years. The Allgood Family (1845-1912), the B.D. Riegel Family (1912-1987) and the R.B. Pamplin Family purchased the mill in 1987.
Today, the mill is owned by Mount Vernon Mills – they produce Denim.
Riegeldale Tavern (picture below) is a restaurant located in on Old Highway 27. The tavern is now known as Sweet P’s at the Tavern. In 1912, Benjamin D. Riegel, owner of the Trion mill, came up with the idea of the tavern. He wanted a place where traveling tourists coming through the area could have an eating place. Riegel talked to his son-in-law, Clarence Jones (an architect), about building a place to sell their products and at the same time, an eating place for guests and tourists. Jones visited Europe and several other countries for the design of the tavern. The building itself was constructed in 1936 within six weeks
Suches is an Unincorporated community in Union County. Suches describes itself as “The Valley Above the Clouds.”‘ The local school is Woody Gap School, the smallest public school in the state of Georgia. The historical marker in front of the school lists it as the homestead of Joseph E. Brown, governor of Georgia during the Civil War.
Suches is a small community, they have a Post Office, Community Center, School and Volunteer Fire Department. The area is beautiful and a nice scenic drive. A lot of motorcycle riders pass through the area following the Dragon Loop. Dahlonega to Suches 15 miles north
Cooper Creek Pottery – pottery is in the cool old barn. 28252 Morganton Hwy.
Wildcat Country Store and Diner – the store is in a 100 year old building – the store has a variety of things – they also have a campground. 7475 Highway 60.
Two Wheels Lodge – Campground, cabins, lodge rooms and restaurant. The motorcycle loop from Dahlonega goes through Suches. 1915 Hwy 60.
Homesite of Joseph Emerson Brown – Joseph Emerson Brown (1821- 1894), born in Pickens District, South Carolina, moved to Union County, Georgia, as a boy. The old Brown home was on the present site of the Woody Gap School, opened in 1941 for mountain students. Brown worked on his father’s farms until he was nineteen, when he went to school in South Carolina. Returning to Georgia, he settled in Canton as head of the local academy. Historic marker is in front of Woody Gap school.
Woody Gap School – the school was built with local timber and stone quarried from nearby Woody Lake. The school was completed in 1941.
Batesville is a small mountain community situated at the intersection of Hwy 197 and 255 in Habersham County. The settlement was originally named for the Soque River that runs near the area. Batesville is unincorporated. The following businesses are in Batesville but have Clarkesville addresses.
Mark of the Potter – pottery shop housed in old Grandpa Watts gristmill on the river. Mark of the Potter has been in business for 47 years. They have 4 potters in-house and they buy pottery from 25-30 potters in the southeastern U.S. – 9982 Hwy 197 N.
Serendipity Stained Glass – from small sun catchers to larger glass panels – 10740 Hwy 197
Batesville General Store Restaurant – Established 1904 – store and restaurant. 11801 Hwy 197 N
Memory Lane – features paintings, fiber art, wood carvings, jewelry, rustic furniture, pottery, small quilted pieces, and a mix of vintage and antique furniture. 11937 Hwy 197 N
No One Alike – Father and daughter collaboration, they work in mediums of wood, silk, leather and metal. The building is a working studio and gallery creating handmade artwork, no two pieces alike. – 13430 Hwy 197
Hickory Flat Pottery – The pottery gallery and studio is in the historic Wikle Homestead. In the gallery, 20 crafts people have items including jewelry, glass, copper, metal, wood and of course pottery. 13664 Hwy 197
Sunburst Stables and Zip Lines – 251 Sunburst Lane
The name “Hiawassee” comes from the Cherokee word Ayuhwasi which means “meadow”. The town is on Lake Chatuge and is located in Towns County.
Lake Chatuge is beautiful, the mountains can be seen across the lake. Highway 76 runs through Hiawassee and Lake Chatuge can be viewed on both sides of the highway.
Lake Chatuge, is popular for swimming, boating, jet skiing, paddling, sport fishing, and other water sports. A sandy beach is open across from the Fairgrounds, get there early to find a parking space.
The Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds plays host to several popular annual events including the Georgia Mountain Fair, the Superstar Concert Series, the Georgia Mountain Fall Festival and Georgia’s Official State Fiddlers’ Convention.
Hamilton Gardens – the gardens have over 400 varieties of rhododendrons and 1,500 plants of rhododendrons and the azaleas, also native dogwoods, azaleas, redbud, trilliums, lady slippers and hydrangeas. The gardens have a spring sale April and May. The Hamilton Gardens is at the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds and is free.
Britt & Capri women’s clothing – this hidden treasure is full of special finds in brand name clothing, shoes, accessories and gifts. 595 North Main Street, Hiawassee
Always Christmas – They are open all year and specialize in Christmas trees, ornaments and holiday décor, they also have year round gifts. 715 N. Main Street
Hightower Creek Vineyards is a small, family-operated winery. The first vines were planted in 2009 with seven acres currently dedicated to production. The tasting room was opened in 2012. 7150 Canaan Drive, Hiawassee
Kimsey Parker Farms mercantile & trading – very nice lady owns the adorable shop. Jams & jellies, homemade soaps, gourmet coffee, candles, lotions, etc. 4671 Hwy 76 East, Hiawassee
Creekside General Store – they have handcrafted items like pottery, jewelry, etc. and also candles, flags, bears, garden items, jams & jellies, clothes and a new product Fire Buggz fire fishing poles for marshmallows and hot dogs. 2955 Hwy 76 East, Hiawassee
Woodstock is a city in Cherokee County. The first settlers called the area Woodstock, but the community did not become an official city until 1897.
Kudos to the planners of the revitalization of Woodstock, having businesses move into the old homes and the mix of old and new buildings gives the town a unique and charming look. I like the tree lined streets with planters of flowers and the park with a fountain and gazebo is a beautiful setting for the Veterans Memorial.
The Woodstock Depot was built in 1912 – The Freight Kitchen & Tap Restaurant is in the depot. – 251 East Main
Woodstock Visitor Center – is in the old Dean’s Store circa 1906
Brooklynn’s – denim, shoes, clothing, accessories and gifts. – 500 Chambers Street
Dismero Redline – “made in Italy”, the designer creates sportswear that he calls “sophisticated casual” – 470 Chambers Street
RAK Outfitters – outdoor clothing and equipment – 450 Chambers Street
Dress Up Boutique – women’s clothes – 425 Chambers Street
Branches Boutique – Jeans, tops, shoes, and accessories – 370 Chambers Street
Christine’s Creations – antiques, home décor, vintage – 8494 Main
St.Spirited – boho chic and unique jewelry – 8670 Main Street
Cupcakelicious – original site of Fowler Grocery circa 1900. They offer cupcakes, cakes, pastries and handmade Belgian chocolate – 8654 Main St.
Century House Tavern – The Hubbard House was built in 1894. The restaurant serves lunch & dinner – 125 E. Main St.
Elm Street Cultural Arts Village –in the future the park will have and Art Gallery, Artist Studios, Community Space, Computer Lab and catering kitchen. The Elm Street Cultural Arts Village has a Woodland Walk with exercise stations and sculptures on the 4 acres.
Ellijay has several streets of buildings that extends out from the town square. The town does not have any really old buildings, because the town knocks them down and builds a new building in its place. The Tabor House is the Historical Society’s home, but it is shabby and in need of painting and repairs, I guess it’s next to be knocked down. But, the town is nice, lots of stores, restaurants and things to do.
Ellijay is the anglicized form of the Cherokee name Elatseyi, meaning “green earth”. Ellijay is a city in Gilmer County and became the county seat in 1834. The town is the “Apple Capital of Georgia” and they have an Apple Festival in October, it takes place at Ellijay Lion’s Club Fairgrounds for 45 years.
The Train Depot on Depot Street is getting a face lift because Ellijay is getting a train in a few weeks. The inside of the depot is being repaired.
Tabor House and Civil War Museumand Gilmer County Historical Society – the museum has artifacts of the Cherokee people and a uniform & items from the Civil War. The ladies at the museum give tours of the house and they cover the town, the Cherokee people and Civil War. The house is from the 1870s. – 138 Spring St. (picture below)
Gilmer Arts and Heritage Assn – the gallery has works of art from local and regional artists and craftspeople. The gallery has paintings, pottery, sculptures and textiles. There is also a gift shop. 207 Dalton St.
New Ground Market – local food & specialty items – 118 N. Main St
Cartecay Bike Shop – besides bikes, the shop offers bike trips based on experience. – 123 N Main St & Martyn House Coffee – 131 N Main St
Main Street Antiques – 66 N. Main St
Cartecay River Trading Company – 58 N Main St
Whistle Tree Pottery – 10 N Main & Mountain Treasures – antiques & vintage – 14 N Main St
Blue Ridge Olive Oil Company – 65 varieties of olive oil and balsamic vinegars – South Main St.
Sweet Shop of the South – cupcakes, cheesecakes, etc. – South Main St
Pj’s Rusted Buffalo – Himalayan salt lamps, have stores in other cities – 2 Northside Square
Flowery Branch is a city in Hall County that was originally named Anaguluskee, a Cherokee Indian word meaning “flowers on the branch.” The town was incorporated January 1, 1874.
The downtown of Flowery Branch is 1 small block of buildings on each side of the street. The town is quaint and charming. Take exit 12 off Interstate 985
The Flowery Branch Historic Train Depot and Museum – they have exhibits, pictures and written material about the town and its 100+ year old Depot.
The Flowery Branch Depot – Cotton, leather and furniture, as well as manufactured items from the region passed through these walls, as did passengers during its working years (c.1890-1970s) as a Richmond & Danville Railroad and Southern Railway System Depot. Sold to the City of Flowery Branch for $1.00 in 1972, the building was later rehabilitated with Federal Transportation Enhancement Funding through the Georgia Department of Transportation, and moved from its original site directly across Railroad Ave. (RR property), to this location, 5302 Railroad Ave. (original site of the Carlisle General Merchandising Building, now City Property). In 2001, the rehabilitated building was dedicated to its new use as a museum and community center. The Depot both educates citizens and gives a special identity to the historic Main Street displaying its significance to Georgia’s railroad and town development history.
It was common for railroads to assign a caboose to a conductor for his exclusive use. Conductors took great pride in their cars. The men decorated their car interiors with many homey touches, including curtains and family photos.
Sample Pleasures Gifts and Antiques – The building was built in 1864. – 5504 Main St.
Calliope Sweets – cakes, cupcakes, cookies, brownies and bars – 5511 Main St.
Growlers on Main – craft beer to go – 5509 Main St.
Common Grounds – coffee and a café, the coffee is good – 5510 Main St.
Liberty Candy Company – they have a large variety of candies, including handmade chocolates and fresh fudge, and nostalgic candies. The building was built in 1906. – 5518 Main St.
Braselton is a town in Barrow, Gwinnett, Hall, and Jackson counties. The town is named after William Harrison Braselton, a poor dirt farmer who married Susan Hosch, the daughter of a rich plantation owner. Braselton built a home on 800 acres of land he purchased north of the Hosch Plantation. The land he purchased was later called Braselton.
Today, the town of Braselton has several small shops in charming small houses. I like what this town is becoming, a unique and lovely town. At the edge of town, several warehouse/distribution centers have made Braselton their home. Petco, Haverty’s, Whole Foods, and Hitachi . 1 mile south on hwy 53 is Hoschton.
Braselton Bros, Inc. – John, Green and William Henry, the sons of William and Susan, built a beautiful brick building that was completed on September 1, 1904 and was referred to as “the most-handsomest and most completely arranged brick structure in this part of the State” by the local newspapers. At one time the store covered over 70,000 square feet of floor space. (see picture below)
Braselton Gallery features folk art and fine art including; jewelry, pottery, paintings, knitted items, alpaca and mohair yarn, wood keepsake boxes, stained glass ornaments, metal sculpture, yard art, wooden American flags and many other art pieces. 36 Frances St.
House of Clay is a place to come to turn your creativity loose. paint bisque, create something from clay, try your hand at the pottery wheel – 65 Frances St.
Countryside Antiques & Collectibles – the shop has over 30 dealers, the shop is located inside the historical elementary school circa 1933. – 115 Harrison Street
A Flea An’tique – the store has 17,000 square feet of single-level shopping and over 80 antique dealers
Sweet Delights Bakery by Vicki – farm to table gourmet foods and gifts – 84 Brassie Ln.
Chateau Elan Winery and Resort – is situated on 3500 acres. The vineyard was planted in 1981. The resort has a nine-hole layout located behind the Inn at Château Élan, a luxury hotel, winery and European-style Spa is nestled inside a 35,000 sq ft mansion overlooking a sparkling lake. – 100 Rue Charlemagne
Mayfield Dairy Farms – In 1910, when T.B. Mayfield Jr. purchased 45 Jersey cows and began delivering milk to customers in his hometown of Athens, Tennessee, little did he know that four generations later, his family milk and ice cream business would become one of the nation’s favorite dairy brands. 1160 Broadway Ave.
From the marker located next to the Gazebo
Originally located in the bell tower of the Braselton High School, the bell was commissioned by Senator Isaac Frank Duncan for all students from 1920 until 1957. The school was built by the Town of Braselton´s founders, and when it closed in 1957, the bell was returned to Senator Duncan´s family. The bell was later donated to the Town by the children of Green and May Braselton who were the Senator´s grandchildren. The restored school bell is a symbol of pride for Braselton, where generations heard its sound for school and community events. It is rededicated by the Mayor and Council in 2004 (Picture at top of gazebo and bell)
Hoschton Train Depot – The four Hosch brothers founded Hoschton in 1881 in the hope of influencing the proposed route of the Gainesville, Jefferson and Southern Railroad. In 1883 this depot was built on land donated by the brothers. The railroad transformed the town and surrounding areas, serving as a catalyst for the development of commerce, agriculture, education, industry, communications, and transportation. The railroad provided a link with other Georgia communities, opened the market for the region’s agricultural products, made manufactured goods widely available, and stimulated the growth of businesses, churches, schools, and the town itself. Train service ended in 1947.
Hoschton is a city in Jackson County. The town was incorporated in 1891. The train depot is really nice, but the few buildings around city hall is plain, no trees, no planters with flowers. Hwy 53 runs through town to Winder. Hoschton to Braselton 1 mile.
Auburn is a city in Barrow and Gwinnett counties. Auburn takes its name from that area’s red clay, which early residents used to dye cloth red. Auburn was incorporated in 1892. A plat of the town was drawn and land surveyed by the Seaboard Railroad. Eight warehouses were built on the railroad sides and many new homes and stores were built. There were eight store buildings built on the north side of the railroad, but only the Poole Store (now Auburn City Hall) and the former Auburn Bank/Flanigan’s (now Rawhide Boots).
The town has two blocks of buildings. The buildings face the railroad tracks and the R H Burel park is across the street from the buildings.