Boiling Springs is a town in Cleveland County. The towns motto is the “Crossroads of Opportunity”. The area was settled around 1843, one of the first buildings was Boiling Springs Baptist Church, built in 1847 about 100 yards from the springs. The little village of Boiling Springs was not well-developed, it was known as a sleepy community, with no railroads, no industries, few stores and no paved streets, the town grew in the 20th century. The town was incorporated in 1911. The Baptist boarding school is now Gardner-Webb University, just recently celebrating its centennial year. The location of the springs is on Gardner-Webb University’s campus.
Boiling Springs is a small town that has a couple of blocks of businesses. The University is in the center of town and the businesses and houses are around it. The larger town, Shelby is 9 miles NE of Boiling Springs.
Gardner-Webb University – The institution began as a boarding high school and later became a junior college. Today Gardner-Webb is a thriving regional university with growing master’s and doctoral programs. The school was chartered in 1905.
Boiling Springs Museum – original artifacts from the region, recreations and displays, as well as a photographic history of the Town and its residents. Currently, the museum is open only during select events and by appointment. 109 South Main Street
Bostic is a town in Rutherford County and established in 1893. The population was 386 at the 2010 census.
Bostic is a very small town with a couple of buildings, a town hall, bakery and museum, there is also a Volunteer Fire Department. The museum is interesting with a nice lady running it. The Bostic Sunshine Highway runs through the town. Forest City is 3 miles from Bostic.
Some believe that President Abraham Lincoln was born on Puzzle Creek near Bostic. Historians have him born to his mother Nancy Hanks and took the name Lincoln only after Hanks moved to Kentucky with the then infant Abraham.
Bostic Lincoln Center Museum – The museum is in the depot. The museum has exhibits featuring Abraham Lincoln, who they claim was born in the area. The evidence is compelling with letters and documents supporting the claim. 112 Depot Street
Bostic has long been a stop for the CSX railroad to exchange crews. There is a Seaboard Coast Line Caboose placed next to the Bostic Lincoln Museum
Whistle Stop Bakery and Farm Store – they offer fresh baked breads, cakes, cookies, homemade jams and jellies. 158 N Main St.
Washburn General Store – Established in 1831, the five-generation family business has been handed down from founder Benjamin Washburn. 2426 Bostic Sunshine Hwy
The National Department of the Interior inducted the General Store, the family estate–built in 1913, a classic wooden barn–built in 1915, and ten other buildings as a historic district in 2002.
Cliffside, Henrietta, Avondale and Caroleen are on Hwy 221A, the towns are close, total miles from Cliffside to Caroleen is 5 miles. I found the drive interesting reading the historical markers in Henrietta, the depot and dam in Caroleen, and the quilts in Cliffside.
Cliffside is an unincorporated community in Rutherford County. In the 1970s, Cliffside destroyed most of the buildings, a couple of buildings are left.
In October 1889, R. R. Haynes, invested in a mill and helped develop a manufacturing town centered around it. In 1902 the mill was put in operation. The structure was one of the last, and the largest, water powered mills in the state. The year 2005 marked the end of an era for the little town of Cliffside, the old cotton mill, around which the town was built a hundred years before, was razed for its timbers, brick and scrap iron.
Quite a few quilts are on the homes and buildings in Cliffside
Raleigh Rutherford Haynes – Jun 30, 1851 – Feb 6, 1917
Son of Charles Hodge and Sara Walker Haynes. Married Amanda Loretta Carpenter in 1874. They had eight children. After her death in 1890, Haynes married his second wife, Litia Kelly, a school teacher, who died in 1892. He was a visionary who implemented an entire industry along the Second Broad River. He founded, among other things, the town of Cliffside.
Having acquired valuable timber land and a fine water power site at the High Shoals on Second Broad River, R.R. Haynes and associates S.B. Tanner, Sr. and J.S. Spencer of Charlotte began development of Henrietta Mills in 1887. Henrietta Mills and village grew and prospered, and about eight years later Henrietta No. 2 plant was built and named Caroleen.
The site has a chain link fence around it and it is really over grown.
Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy – formerly the Henrietta-Caroleen High School, also known as Tri-High, Tri-Community Elementary, and Chase Middle School, built in 1925 and is on the National Register of Historic Places.
Raleigh Rutherford Haynes also opened a plant in Caroleen.
Caroleen Depot – This spur depot, built around 1895, in Rutherford County was operated primarily for the large textile mill at Caroleen called Henrietta #2. The station was on the route between Lattimore and Forest City at Henrietta Junction.
Traveling from one town to the next we went through a lot of nice farm land. Usually this many towns takes us a long time to complete, but we were done in 2 hours, there just wasn’t much to look at and explore. I saw a bike route sign in Lawndale pointing to Polkville but could not find any more signs.
The towns of Lattimore, Lawndale and Polkville had a lot of vacant buildings and it was obvious that they had active towns in the past.
Lattimore is a town in Cleveland County. The town has had a post office since 1886 and was named for an early settler. Lattimore was incorporated in 1890. Population was 488 at 2010 census.
Shelby, North Carolina is 8 miles east of Lattimore. The small town of Lattimore has vacant warehouses and buildings, but the town is still charming. The Hunt Memorial Park in the center of town has gazebos and flowers . The café and coffee shop wasn’t open on Saturday at 11:00am. Only 2 cars passed me when I was taking pictures, I imagine that everything opens when the college is in session.
Ambassador Baptist College – Founded by Ron Comfort in 1989. The mission of the college is to train ministers. The building that they occupy was an elementary and middle school. They have added dormitories and purchased the building adjoining the property for a coffee shop and bookstore. 101 Stockton Street
Kingstown was named to honor Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and was incorporated in 1989. The town is in Cleveland County. Population was 681 in 2010 census.
Kingstown Road is the main road through town. Nice small town, large church when entering the town.
Double Shoals, NC
Double Shoals Cotton Mill – Original structure built in 1892 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places. 45,457 sq. ft. former cotton mill on 14.7 acres. 1,478 feet of First Broad River frontage. 199 Old Mill Rd.
There are quite a few mill houses along Old Mill Road, the homes have been well kept.
Lawndale is a town in Cleveland County along the First Broad River. The population was 606 at the 2010 census. Take Hwy 182 to Polkville.
Polkville is a small city in Cleveland County. The population was 545 at the 2010 census. Buildings are stretched out along US Hwy 226
Five Points, NC
MOUNT HARMONY UNITED METHODIST CHURCH
Congregation organized by 1791. Cemetery and present building, the church’s fourth, are one-mile west. Marker is on US Hwy 226 NW of Polkville.
About Mount Harmony Church – Over the years conflicting claims has surfaced regarding which Methodist church was the first to be established west of the Catawba River. Years earlier Rehobeth Methodist Church in Catawba County had erected a marker claiming the distinction. Asbury was named as one of several grantees in the 1791 deed conveying two and one-half acres to the Mount Harmony congregation. Church is on Mount Harmony Church Road.
The small towns of Ellenboro and Mooresboro are 4 miles apart on Hwy 74, they both have several businesses that have closed. Ellenboro is larger they have a school, the Mooresboro school is closed and houses the Town Hall and Sheriffs Satellite office.
In 1880 the Seaboard Railroad built a line from Wilmington, NC to Rutherfordton. At the highest point on the line, a settlement was started. In 1884 the community was trying to decide on a name for the town, Seaboard engineer John Robinson, proposed that it be named for his daughter, Ellen, who was dying of a fever.
The Ellenboro Train Depot is a museum full of history; not just about trains but items from the past. 124 Depot St
Town Hall – faces the railroad tracks, a row of crepe myrtle bushes line the tracks to the depot. 163 Depot St.
Colfax Gin – primarily operates in the fertilizer and fertilizer materials business. Been in business for 43 years.
Mooresboro is in Cleveland County.
Horsehead Corporation – They are the largest zinc producer in the United States with several plants in different cities. Not sure if the plant is still open in Mooresboro the corporation was having financial problems in early 2016. 347 Hicks Grove Rd.
Bat Cave is an unincorporated community in Henderson County. The community is named after the nearby cave which is inhabited by several species of bats.
Bat Cave, The Village of Chimney Rock and Lake Lure are close together with a total combined distance of 8 miles. They are on Hwy 64/Main Street. The Bat Cave Community is small, a few businesses, but mostly homes.
Bat Cave is the largest known granite fissure cave in North America. The main chamber is a dark cathedral more than 300 feet long and approximately 85 feet high. (to protect the bats, the cave is closed to visitors.) Fissure caves are formed by rock splits, boulder movements, and other motions of the earth, while most other caves are formed by water dissolving and abrading rock.
Old Cider Mill – actual working cider press mill. They have been pressing cider over 35 years. Gift shop has hand crafted items from local artists and the owner. The building was built in the early 1900s and housed the 1st original Bat Cave Post Office. At the intersection of Highways 64 & 74.
Hip Hen – antiques & collectibles- nice lady runs the shop. Hwy 64
The small village of Chimney Rock stretches along the Rocky Broad river. Because of the mountainous terrain Main Street is one block wide for most of its length. Main Street. has shops, restaurants, motels and the Chimney Rock State Park. The Village of Chimney Rock is charming with the rustic looking shops and the view of Chimney Rock Mountain from Main Street
The Village of Chimney Rock is between Lake Lure and Bat Cave on Hwy 64/Main Street. The towns are close together with a total distance of 8 miles.
Chimney Rock State Park – Visitors have two options for reaching the top of 315-foot-tall Chimney Rock. A 26-story elevator or take a set of 400 wooden stairs and walkways winds up the side of the mountain. Once at the top, visitors can hike one of the trails or return to the parking lot via the elevator or the stairs.
Rocky Broad River Walk – Natural walkway, including stone bridges, in the center of Chimney Rock Village. Access to riverfront shops & restaurants along 1/8-mile trail.
Doug Bowman Galleries – hand built furniture & décor – 188 Main St.
Fibber MaGees – Gift shop has women’s clothes and accessories, candles, artwork, pottery and crafts. The coffee shop features 20 different type of coffee beans. They also have and Inn. 339 Main St.
Chimney Rock Harley Davidson – riding gear and accessories – 363 Main St.
April’s Boutique – women’s clothing & accessories – 371 Main St.
Willow Creek – Gifts, souvenirs, handmade chocolates, coffee and sweet shop. 375 Main St.
Bubba O’Leary’s General Store & Outfitters – All of what you need & Most of what you want – 385 Main St.
Chimney Rock Gem Mine & Jewelry Co – Two locations. Sterling silver gemstone jewelry, rocks, minerals and fossils. 397 Main St.
Bayou Billy – homemade soda pop & soft serve in a tin mug – 401 Main St.
Hickory Nut Gorge Brewery – opening August 2016. 461 Main St.