Saluda, NC – Historic Mountain Village

Saluda is a charming historic small town.  The town is 3 blocks long and the buildings face the railroad tracks.   On the weekends it is hard to find a parking place, but the shops and depot are worth the effort.  The first Saturday after July 4th, they have a festival called Coon Dog Days, sounds interesting and I love dogs.

The city of Saluda is in Henderson and Polk counties.  Originally Saluda was known as Pace’s Gap, named for the Pace family who inhabited the area.  In 1881, the town was incorporated as Saluda, after the Saluda Mountains. The Saluda Mountains were named after the Saluda River, which got its name from an Indian chief whose name meant “Corn River” in Cherokee.

The completion of the Southern Railroad in 1878 brought about a large change in Saluda.  The three-mile-long grade that crests at Saluda is the steepest stretch of track in the nation.  Construction on the Saluda line in the 1870s marked the first use of convict labor on such a large scale. Casualties among the workforce ran so high that it prompted an investigation.

Saluda Grade:  The steepest, standard gauge, mainline railway grade in the U.S. Opened in 1878; three mi. long. Crests here

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
HISTORIC DEPOT AND MUSEUM
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
MUSEUM INSIDE OF DEPOT

Thompson’s Store & Ward’s Grill since 1890 – “The oldest store in North Carolina” saluda (2)

M.A. Pace Store since 1899 – General Merchandise

saluda

Heartwood – they have handcrafted ceramics, wood, jewelry, fiber, candles, glass, paintings and garden art.  Main Street

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Kathleen’s – the store has items by local artists and crafts people including, folk art, pottery, jewelry, wood pieces and fine art.  Main St  

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Somewhere in Time – the store has a variety of things, antiques, jam and jellies, ice cream, etc.  Main Street

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
THE POTTERY

Art of the Horse Outdoor Exhibit – the horses are in 4 towns in 2 states

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Green River Adventures – offers waterfall rappelling, whitewater rafting, kayak instruction, they also offer zip lining the Saluda Gorge (they claim it is the steepest and fastest in America.)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
VETERANS MEMORIAL PARK

Pearson’s Falls and Glen is a botanical wonderland. It was named for the young engineer, Charles William Pearson, who scouted the mountains for the Southern Railroad. A military man, farmer, and an engineer, Captain Pearson bought the Glen as part of a large tract of land that he wanted for his family.  In 1931, the Tryon Garden Club purchased the 268-acre property. 2748 Pearson Falls road off Hwy 176

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

Crossville, Tennessee – Golf Capital of Tennessee

Picture above is the Crossville Depot it was built in 1900.

Crossville is in Cumberland County.  A community developed at the intersection of the Great Stage Road which connected Knoxville to Nashville, and the Kentucky Stock Road a cattle drovers’ path connecting Middle Tennessee with Kentucky.  Around 1800, a settler named Samuel Lambeth opened a store at this junction, and the small community that developed around it became known as Lambeth’s Crossroads.  By the time a post office was established in the 1830s, the community had taken the name of Crossville.

Crossville says they are the Golf Capital of Tennessee with 10 championship golf courses for golfers.  The town also has antique stores and the Crossville outlet mall.

Crossville Depot – 169 N. Main St.  Unique gifts, coffee, tea and candy samples.  One of the adorable otters is at the front entry

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Chestnut Hill Winery – 78 Chestnut Hill Rd. – The winery is one of the largest in Tennessee.  They have sweet and dry wines.  The gift shop has mostly Tennessee-made items. 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
CHESTNUT HILL WINERY

Stonehaus Winery – 2444 Genesis Rd. – They have dry and fruity sweet wines.  They have a free guided tour of the winemaking process.  The gift shop has gourmet foods, wine themed décor and fudge.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
STONEHAUS WINERY

Military Memorial Museum has photographs, uniforms and other artifacts from the Civil War, World War I, World War II, Korean, Vietnam, Desert Storm and Iraq wars. They also have items from Camp Crossville, the German prisoner of war camp in operation during World War II.  No picture since I did not tour the museum.  20 S. Main St.

 

Homestead Tower Museum – 96 Hwy 68 – This landmark structure was built in 1937 to house the administrative offices of the Cumberland Homesteads, a project of FDR’s New Deal.   The octagonal stone tower houses a 50,000 gallon water tank and a winding stairway that leads to a lookout platform at the top.  The short film and museum is interesting,  check out the tower it has a good view from the top.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
HOMESTEAD TOWER MUSEUM
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
CUMBERLAND HOMESTEADERS

Cumberland Mountain State Park began as part of the Cumberland Homesteads Project.  The park is 1,720-acres it was acquired in 1938 to provide a recreational area for 250 families selected to homestead on the Cumberland Plateau.  The park has a manmade lake called Byrd Lake.  The campground has 140 campsites and cabins.  The golf course was designed by Jack Nicklaus.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
BRIDGE AND DAM

Lula, Georgia – A Friendly Place to Live and Build a Business

Lula is a small town in Hall and Banks counties.  Most of the town is in Hall County, with a small eastern portion of the city located in Banks County.  Civil engineers Joel Hurt and his brother Fletcher named the town in honor of Miss Lula Phinizy, later Mrs. Abner W. Calhoun, whom they both admired.  Lula was incorporated in 1876.

Lula is a small quaint town that has 2 blocks of buildings, most are vacant.  The buildings face the railroad tracks with the depot on the other side of the tracks.  Lula’s motto is: “A friendly place to live and build a business”.  The town has a festival and parade called “Railroad Days” in May, that has been going on for 40 years.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The town has built a Veterans Memorial that they can be proud of, it’s one of the nicest I have seen.

lula (2)

Across from the Veterans Memorial is city park with a monument for Capt. Denver V. Truelove, he grew up in Lula.  Crew member on plane #5, as bombardier on the Tokyo Raiders Mission he dropped the first bombs on Tokyo, April 19, 1942.

lula

Lula’s historic depot no longer stands by the tracks, but a depot-style community building and a caboose are prominent features in the town’s Railroad Park alongside the Norfolk Southern Railway.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Wooden Humpback bridge across railroad tracks

lula (13)

North Georgia Canopy Tours – 5290 Harris Rd. – they have 2 & 3 hour tours.  They also have disc golf, geocaching, cornhole, etc.

Euharlee, Georgia – The Covered Bridge City

Euharlee is a small town in Bartow County.  Euharlee to Cartersville 9 miles.

The city of Euharlee takes its name from Euharlee Creek, which comes from the Cherokee name Eufaula, meaning “she laughs as she runs”.   In the 1840s the Burges mill was constructed on the creek, and the settlement became known as “Burges Mill”. In 1852 the town incorporated as Euharleyville.  In 1870 the town was chartered as Euharlee.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
MILL SITE

Euharlee retains many of the historic buildings dating to the 1800s, including the covered bridge responsible for coining the slogan “the covered bridge city”.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Militia No 851 County Court House
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
CALABOOSA
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
GENERAL STORE
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
TRAVELERS WELL

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Euharlee Creek Covered Bridge

In 1886 the county contracted with Washington W. King, son of freed slave and noted bridge builder Horace King, and Jonathan H. Burke for the construction of this 138-foot bridge. It was adjacent to a mill owned by Daniel Lowry, of which the foundation is still evident. This bridge replaced several previous structures, the last having been built two years prior. Constructed in the Town lattice design, the bridge’s web of planks crisscrossing at 45-to 60-degree angles are fastened with wooden pegs, or trunnels, at each intersection.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

The Euharlee Welcome Center and History Museum – The museum features an assortment of local artifacts from the early American Indian habitation to an exhibit featuring the area’s Civil War history.  On Covered Bridge Road

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Tallulah Falls, Georgia – Worth the Effort to See the Gorge

The picture above is the 63 acre Tallulah Lake

Tallulah Falls is a town in Habersham and Rabun counties.  It is a very small town the population was 168 in the 2010 census. Tallulah Falls started out in the 1880s as a tourist town for the multitude of visitors who came by train.   Today a multitude of visitors still visit Tallulah Falls.

Tallulah Gorge State Park – One of the most spectacular canyons in the eastern U.S., Tallulah Gorge is two miles long and nearly 1,000 feet deep. Rim trails lead to several overlooks.  A suspension bridge sways 80 feet above the rocky bottom, providing spectacular views of the river and 6 waterfalls.  Exhibits in the park’s Jane Hurt Yarn Interpretive Center highlight the rich history of Tallulah.  A theater shows an award-winning film of the gorge.   The park is 2,739 acres and has a 63-acre lake.  It has 50 campsites, pioneer camping, 20 miles of hiking trails, swimming and fishing. Rock climbing was suspended when I was there at the end of May because of the Peregrine Falcons.    Jane Hurt Yarn Road

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Jane Hurt Yan Interpretive Center

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Tallulah Falls Railway and Depot

Construction of Tallulah Falls Railway began in 1871 at Cornelia, GA, reached Tallulah Falls in 1882, and extended to Franklin, NC, by 1907. As the northern terminus of the rail line for over twenty years, Tallulah Falls became a popular resort town. Trading opportunities also increased for this remote region and the depot served as a social center. The original depot burned in 1912 and was replaced by the present building in 1913-14. With a decline in tourism, passenger rail service ended by 1946. Ongoing repair costs and mounting debt forced the railway to cease operations in 1961.  On Hwy 441

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
HISTORICAL MARKER IN FRONT OF THE DEPOT

tallulah (5)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Moss House – R.H. Moss of Athens built several structures in Tallulah Falls in the late 19th century, including the Cliff House Hotel and this family home. Located just south of the train depot, it escaped the Great Fire of 1921. This home remained in the Moss family from 1879 until 1981 when it was sold to a developer. In recent years, it housed Isabelle’s Restaurant.  Moss Street

tallulah (7)

tallulah

 

Indian Springs Trading Post – has Native American crafts, local crafts, chainsaw art, antiques and rocks.  On Tallulah Gorge Scenic Loop

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Tallulah Point Overlook – since 1912 the restaurant/store is open daily year round. The store has souvenirs, knives, toys, snacks and drinks.  The deck on the back has a different view of the gorge.  On Tallulah Gorge Scenic Loop

tallulah (4)

lakeside view of dam – stairs at the edge of the bridge,  picture can be taken of the front side of dam

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
LAKESIDE OF DAM

tallulah (6)

Dillard, Ga – In the Valley

The above picture is of the Rabun Gap Nacoochee School campus

Dillard is a city in Rabun County.  Incorporated in 1906.  Dillard ls a small town near the North Carolina line.

Captain John Dillard settled in the beautiful valley in 1794 after being awarded a land grant of 1,000 acres for his service in the American Revolution. Legend has it that to make peace with the local Cherokee Indians a gift of a muzzle-loading rifle, a jug of apple brandy, a coonskin cap and $3.00 was given for all the land between two mountain tops.

The Dillard family established many of the early businesses including a stagecoach way station, boarding house and post office. In 1890, the postal service picked Dillard as the official town name.

Dillard is in a valley with great views of the mountains.  Hwy 441 runs through the town and most of the stores are on this highway.  This is a very beautiful area.

dillard (11)

dillard (10)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
PORTERS ANTIQUES

Black Bear Country Store – mountain crafts and Amish foods – 5736 Hwy 441 N.  store is in a log cabindillard (5)

 

Rabun Gap Railroad Museum – the museum was built by students of the Rabun Gap Nacoochee School, it celebrates the former Tallulah Falls Railway that once ran through Rabun Gap. Exhibits include not only TFR railroad artifacts and photographs but also a full-size two-foot gauge locomotive, passenger car, flat car, caboose and tracks.  The museum is across from the school.

dillard (6)

Dillard House – (picture below) Arthur Dillard, the great-grandson of John Dillard, operated a general store and his wife, Carrie, opened a boarding house which later became The Dillard House.  The new Dillard House dining room was built in 1958 and the area quickly became a favorite destination for the well-to-do.  Today, The Dillard House is an award-winning Southern favorite known for its legendary flavor and large family-size portions

dillard (3)

 

3 Legge Art – Since 1999, artists Eric and Terry Legge the shop functions as a working studio and gallery.  The shop also is a museum of the lifelong works and sculptures of Joe Legge.  They have unique pieces of art, I liked the dragon with smoke coming out of his mouth and the buffalo with wings. on Hwy 441

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
3 LEGGE ART

dillard (12)

Old Mountain/ Bear Country Gifts – (picture below) chainsaw art pieces and yard art – on Hwy 441

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Alto and Baldwin, Ga.

Above picture is Fort Hollingsworth – White House

Alto is a small town in Banks and Habersham counties.  Originally called Lulah City and Long View. Alto was founded in 1877 and incorporated in 1895, the name is from an Italian word for “high”.

Gainesville Hwy. runs through Alto.  The town is mostly houses, with two stores, city hall, police station and post office.  This is a really small town.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
CITY HALL

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
POLICE DEPT

Jaemor Farms – It is a family owned and operated business.  The Echols family has been farming the 350-acre property for more than 100 years. The roadside market has been open for 35 years.  They have homemade fresh breads, jams & jellies, pickles, relishes, BBQ sauces, marinades, dressings, pies, ice creams, cakes, boiled peanuts, plants and flowers. 5340 Cornelia Hwy

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Sweet Acres Winery – Matthew and Lindsey are the owners and operators of Sweet Acre Farms Winery.  They serve fruit and muscadine wine.  7584 Bill Wilson Rd.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Fort Hollingsworth – White House est. 1793 – William Wofford and Jacob Hollingsworth moved from North Carolina to Franklin County, Georgia in 1792. The area where they settled was known as Wofford’s Settlement. When Col. Wofford learned that their settlement was considered to be in Indian territory, he along with other settlers in the area, petitioned Georgia Governor James Jackson to have the line re-drawn, or to take such action to protect them and their possessions from Indian raids.

By about 1796, conflicts with local Indian tribes were no longer a concern and the string of frontier forts were no longer necessary. The forts soon became log farmhouses. Joshua White and Katharine Lane White obtained the fort and made it their home. They built the addition to the two story single pen that had been the fort and made it look like any other farmhouse of the mid 1800’s.  The fort/homestead is on the National Register of Historic Places. Fort Hollingsworth-White House looks very much today as it did in the 1860’s.  There are several outbuildings, barn, corn crib, cabin, well and main house.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Baldwin, Ga.

Alto to Baldwin 4 miles on Gainesville Hwy becomes Wallingham Hwy in Baldwin.

Originally known as Stonepile, because of a large pile of stones in the center of town, the stone structure was left by the Cherokees.  Baldwin was incorporated in 1896. The town was named Baldwin to honor Joseph A. Baldwin, a railroad official.  The town is home to Habersham County Airport.

Downtown Baldwin is one block long on Airport Road.  The City of Baldwin takes pride in being “The Hub of Development in Northeast Georgia.”

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

baldwin (2)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
CITY HALL – 130 AIRPORT ROAD

Mitchell Gailey City Park – nice park

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

Demorest, Ga. – A College Town

The bridge was modeled after the Vanderbilt University 21st Avenue Pedestrian Bridge (picture above)

Demorest is in Habersham County.  Gainesville to Demorest is 26 miles northeast.

Demorest is a small quaint town.  The town has two small blocks of buildings.  In 1889, Demorest was a “temperance town” consequently the making, serving or giving away alcoholic beverages was prohibited.  The town was named for William Jennings Demorest a prohibition leader.

demorest

demorest (2)

Piedmont College is a private, liberal arts institution. Founded in 1897, Piedmont’s campus has 300 acres in a traditional residential-college setting.

demorest (5)

demorest (6)

Johnny Mize Athletic Center and Museum. The museum is owned by Piedmont College and is named for Baseball Hall of Famer Johnny Mize was born in Demorest, and played baseball at Piedmont. The museum houses Mize memorabilia from his time at Piedmont as well as from his baseball career with the Cardinals, Giants and Yankees. 280 Laurel Ave.  Museum is open M-S, admission is free

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
JOHNNY MIZE ATHLETIC CENTER AND MUSEUM

Mason-Scharfenstein Museum of Art – 567 Georgia St. – the museum displays the art collection of Bill Mason and Bob Scharfenstein, the collection comprises hundreds of paintings, sculptures, and pieces of art glass and crystal. The gallery is open M-S,  9-5, admission is free

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

City Park – next to Piedmont College has a monument honoring Johnny Mize

demorest (8)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
TRAIN DEPOT BUILT 1903 – TRACKS REMOVED – MAINE ST.  34 34 001 – 83 32 205

Spencer, Tennessee – Fall Creek Falls State Park

The above picture is of Cane Creek Falls in Fall Creek Falls State Park

Fall Creek Falls State Park

The park is 26,000 acres located in Bledsoe and Van Buren counties.  It is 11 miles east of Spencer and 18 miles west of Pikeville across the eastern top of the rugged Cumberland Plateau.

The park is beautiful, I saw several deer grazing on the grass.  The view from the fisherman cabins of the lake was wonderful and very peaceful. 

In 1937, the federal government began purchasing the badly eroded land around Fall Creek Falls. The following year, the Works Project Administration and the Civilian Conservation Corps began restoring the forest and constructing park facilities. A few years later in 1944, the National Park Service transferred ownership of the park to the State of Tennessee.

Fall Creek Falls features an inn with 145 hotel rooms and restaurant. There are also 30 cabins and 222 camp sites.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
FISHERMAN CABINS – CAN FISH FROM THE BACK DECK

Activities include:  34 miles of trails for hiking, a 18-hole golf course, horse stable with guided trail rides and Olympic sized pool.  Planned activities include:  arts and crafts, movies, campfires, organized games and live musical entertainment.

Zipstream Zip Line – has 75 wobbly bridges, rope swings, cargo nets, balance beams and zip lines of varying difficulty.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

Fall Creek Falls, at 256 feet, is one of the highest waterfalls in the eastern United States.  Take the Gorge Scenic Drive Motor Nature Trail, it is a loop with a view of the falls, with overlooks and the buzzard roost, where several buzzards were riding the air currents.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
FALL CREEK FALLS

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
BUZZARD ROOST

 

Cane Creek Falls and Cascades (picture below) behind nature center

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
CANE CREEK FALLS

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
FALL CREEK FALLS GENERAL STORE
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
FALL CREEK FALLS OUTDOOR SHOP – SOUVENIRS & GIFTS

Historical marker in park it reads:   Just south of here was the studio of Gilbert Gaul, one of the best painters of American Civil War scenes. After being elected the youngest member of the National Academy of design in 1882, his “Holding the Line at all Hazards” won an Academey Gold Medal. Gaul moved here from New York in 1881 after inheriting a tract of land. His most prolific work was accomplished here, engaging local folk as models.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
LOOKS LIKE A FOOT?

Pikeville, Tennessee – Charming Small Town

Pikeville was established in 1816 on lands donated by Charles Love. The town is in Bledsoe County.  The origin of the town’s name is unknown, although some have suggested that it was named for explorer General Zebulon Pike.  The town was incorporated in 1830.

Pikeville is charming with its tree-lined and brick accent streets.  The town is several blocks long and has a grocery store, a few restaurants and shops. Fall Creek State Park and Bledsoe State Forest is within 20 miles from Pikeville.  Pikeville is the county seat.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES