Trion, GA. Started with a Cotton Mill

Trion is a town in Northwest Georgia in Chattooga County.  In the 1840s the Trion Mills started producing cotton. A post office called Trion Factory opened in 1847, and in 1904 the name was changed to Trion.

Today the town centers around the mill.  Highway 27, runs through the eastern part of the town, the businesses are along this highway.  Around the mill are the typical mill houses.

MOUNT VERNON MILL

In front of the mill there is a historical plaque it reads:

First Cotton Mill in Northwest Georgia  – Three Walker County businessmen, Andrew P. Allgood, Spencer S. Marsh and Col. W.K. Briers, officially organized the Trion factory Oct. 12, 1845. It has had few shut-downs since its first production in 1847. In 1858 an epidemic, in 1864 Sherman’s invading Federal Army closed the mill until the end of the War Between the States, fire on April 10, 1876 only shut the mill for six months and a strike for six weeks in 1934. Three families owned and operated the mill through its first 150 years. The Allgood Family (1845-1912), the B.D. Riegel Family (1912-1987) and the R.B. Pamplin Family purchased the mill in 1987.

Today, the mill is owned by Mount Vernon Mills –  they produce Denim.

 

Riegeldale Tavern (picture below) is a restaurant located in on Old Highway 27.  The tavern is now known as Sweet P’s at the Tavern.  In 1912, Benjamin D. Riegel, owner of the Trion mill, came up with the idea of the tavern. He wanted a place where traveling tourists coming through the area could have an eating place. Riegel talked to his son-in-law, Clarence Jones (an architect), about building a place to sell their products and at the same time, an eating place for guests and tourists. Jones visited Europe and several other countries for the design of the tavern. The building itself was constructed in 1936 within six weeks

Brevard, NC – The Land of Waterfalls

Brevard is a city in Transylvania County. The area’s many waterfalls have earned it the nickname, “The Land of Waterfalls”, Brevard is also known for its white squirrels. There are several theories of how they came to live there, including an overturned carnival truck and an escaped pet breeding with native squirrels. The White Squirrel Festival takes place on the Friday, Saturday, and Sunday preceding Memorial Day. It features the white Squirrel, Pisgah Pete, live music, arts & crafts, and food.

The town is a shopper’s paradise with shops, galleries and restaurants.  Nice town, did not see any white squirrels.  I like the metal sculptures around town.

O.P. Taylor – “The coolest toy store on the planet” – 16 S. Broad Street

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
O P TAYLOR TOY STORE

ART Works – is a working studio, gallery, they also offer classes – 27 S. Broad St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
ART WORKS

Penny Lane Exchange – costumes and eclectic items – 32 S. Broad St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
PENNY LANE

Local Color – handcrafted jewelry, wood art, metal art, pottery and repurposed items – 36 SW. Broad St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
LOCAL COLOR

Bracken Mountain Bakery – Owned and operated by the Tellman’s since 1995. 42 S. Broad St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Red Wolf Gallery – Featuring Regional and International Artists and Craftsman – 8 East Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Number 7 Art Gallery – offers a diverse collection of artwork by local Transylvania County Artists.  12 E. Main Street

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Market 36 E. Main – Artisan Grab & Go Market. Featuring prepared foods, Locally sourced & Louisiana products, wine, beer and specialty foods

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
36 MAIN

Brevard Brewing – family owned business, they make the beer and specialize in lagers.  63 E. Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Theophilus – women’s clothing and accessories – 66 E. Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Fox Hollow Gifts – gifts, collectibles and unique seasonal items – 15 W. Main St and Main Street Market Shops

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Spice It To A Tea – teas, spices, rubs, salts and infused olive oils – 64 W. Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SPICE IT TO A TEA

Haen Gallery – in the old Brevard Lumberyard.   Metal sculptures on the outside of the gallery (large picture at top)  200 King Street

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
HAEN GALLERY
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
HAEN GALLERY

The Transylvania Heritage Museum is in a house was built by Thomas D. England in 1890.  Exhibits featuring the people and artifacts of the county.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
TRANSYLVANIA HERITAGE MUSEUM

Mud Dabbers – in and old General Store, circa 1922, the gallery store has pottery from 25 local potters.  The working studio is located next door.  3623 Greenville Hwy – 4 ½ miles South of Brevard

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Mountain Forest Pottery – pottery and fine crafts – 2395 Greenville Hwy.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
MOUNTAIN FOREST POTTERY

Duck Pond Pottery – a working ceramic studio and gallery.  1840 Greenville Hwy

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
DUCK POND POTTERY

Cowpens, Mayo and Converse, South Carolina

COWPENS, SC

Cowpens is a town in Spartanburg County.  Population 2,217 in 2013.

Hwy 29/Main Street runs through the town of Cowpens.  The town is small but they have restaurants and stores.  In 1976, the Cowpens Bicentennial Committee decided they would have a festival called the Mighty Moo Festival in honor of former crewmen of the USS Cowpens WWII aircraft carrier.  Festival is held on the third weekend of June.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
MAIN STREET
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SWEET PEA  – MAIN STREET
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
MAIN STREET

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

During the American Revolutionary War, the Battle of Cowpens was fought on January 17, 1781, resulting in a decisive victory for American Patriot forces over British troops. The battle site is preserved at Cowpens National Battlefield, located 9 miles north of town in Cherokee County, near the town of Chesnee. (check out the Chesnee post, I wrote about the battlefield)

Two ships of the U.S. Navy have been named USS Cowpens in honor of the battle.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
AMERICAN REVOLUTIONARY WAR PAINTING – MAIN STREET

The Cowpens Depot, built in 1896, was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1997.   The Cowpens Depot Museum and Civic Center houses items donated by crewmen and local citizens emphasizing the WWII naval history.  Displayed items include clothing, photos, medals, and personal letters of former USS Cowpens crewmen.  The museum is open by appointment.  120 Palmetto St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
COWPENS DEPOT

Historic marker reads:  (picture above) This passenger and freight depot was built in 1896 by the Southern Railway and was originally 1 block N. at Brown & Church Sts. It replaced an 1873 depot on the Atlanta & Charlotte Air Line Railway, later merged into the Southern. This depot served passengers into the 1950s and handled freight until 1967. It was moved in 1982

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
COWPEN’S VETERAN MEMORIAL PARK – ACROSS THE ROAD FROM THE DEPOT
 CONVERSE, SC

Converse is in Spartanburg County, the community is next to Cowpens, separated by the Pacolet River.  No town, the community has a closed mill and mill houses around it.

At the Pacolet River Bridge are plaques about the flood of 1903.

At dawn on the morning of June 6, 1903, floodwaters roared through the Pacolet River valley.  As the high water thundered downstream from mill village to mill village, people in the path of the flash flood had no warning it was coming. Before the morning was over, the day would become the deadliest flood event in state history.

Historical accounts claim 70 deaths from the flood, but the toll was likely many more. The flood’s fury destroyed four textile mills and inflicted heavy damage to two others, laid waste to at least 75 homes and wiped out warehouses filled with cotton bales. Many of the victims were never found; others were buried where their bodies were discovered, some as far away as Union County. The flood left a 12-mile-long path of devastation strewn with textile machinery, downed trees, flattened houses, washed-out bridges, and the bodies of its victims. More than 4,000 cotton mill employees from Converse to Pacolet were without paychecks for many months.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
DAM ACROSS PACOLET RIVER
MAYO, SC

 Mayo is in Spartanburg County.  No town, there is a post office, fire department, pawn shop, convenience store, homes and churches.  Highway 221 goes through Mayo to Chesnee which is 5 miles north.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
FIRE DEPARTMENT
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
POST OFFICE

 

Gaffney, SC – Peach Capital of South Carolina

Gaffney is a city in and the county seat of Cherokee County. Gaffney is known as the “Peach Capital of South Carolina”. The town was named for Michael Gaffney.

The Peachoid is a 135 feet tall water tower, that resembles a peach. The water tower holds one million gallons of water and is located off Peachoid Road (picture above).  Millwood Park surrounds the big peach with benches and tables.

Downtown Gaffney has tree-lined streets, railroad tracks run through town with businesses on both sides of the tracks the majority of businesses are service type businesses, there are a couple of stores and several vacant buildings.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Harold’s Restaurant – established in 1932 – featured in Food Networks – Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives – 602 N. Limestone St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Michael Gaffney Log Cabin – Michael Gaffney was born in Granard Ireland and immigrated to the United States in 1797. After a short period in New York, he set sail for Charleston, South Carolina. He departed Charleston for the upstate and arrived at Smith´s Ford on the Broad River on December 17, 1800. There he met and married Mary “Polly” Smith, daughter of John Smith on July 21, 1803. ( small portion of marker)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
MICHAEL GAFFNEY CABIN
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
MARKER AT GAFFNEY CABIN

Carnegie Library – This Classical Revival building, built in 1913-14 and designed by Arthur W. Hamby, was one of 14 public libraries built in S.C. between 1903 and 1916 with funding from Andrew Carnegie and Carnegie Foundation. In 1938 addition compatible to the original design doubled its size. It served as the Cherokee County Public until 1972 and has housed county offices since that time. The building was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 2000. (see picture below)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

In front of the building is the veteran’s memorial and a monument for Col. James Williams – Hero of the battle of Kings Mountain 1780, also historic marker for Carnegie Library. (see picture below)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
WAS CARNEGIE LIBRARY – NOW ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICES

Visitor Center and Art Gallery – 210 West Frederick St – built in 1912 used to be the post office.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
VISITOR CENTER AND ART GALLERY
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
INSIDE OF VISITOR CENTER GALLERY

Cherokee County History & Arts Museum – on College Drive in the historic Central Elementary School building. The museum is operated by the Cherokee Historical & Preservation Society and is located on the mustering ground of the South Carolina militia (1812–1914).

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Limestone College is a private four-year, coeducational liberal arts college. Limestone was established in 1845 by Thomas Curtis and his son, William Curtis, distinguished scholars born and educated in England. Limestone was the first women’s college in South Carolina.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Marker reads:  Founded in 1845 as the Limestone Springs Female High School by Dr. Thomas Curtis and his son Dr. William Curtis, distinguished Baptist clergymen. The school thrived until falling on hard times during the Civil War and Reconstruction. In 1881 the institution was revived by New York benefactor Peter Cooper as Cooper Limestone Institute. Renamed Limestone College in 1898

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Limestone College Quarry

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The Gaffney Premium Outlet with 75 stores, The Big E, Hamricks Store, fast food restaurants, gas stations, and the Possum Trot School are at exit 90 off Interstate 85.

The Big E – family entertainment with movies, miniature golf, bowling, arcade, bumper cars, play land, laser tag and ropes course.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Possum Trot School –  front of Hamrick’s store in field.  The school was built in 1880 by Tom and Jimmy Pettit.  The school was located on farmland in the Midway Community not far from Gaffney.  It is one of few remaining one-room schools.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
POSSUM TROT SCHOOL
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
INSIDE OF SCHOOL TAKEN THROUGH WINDOW

 

Fingerville, New Prospect and Campobello, SC

Fingerville, SC

The community was named for Joseph Finger, the owner of a cotton mill.  The community is in Spartanburg County.  The small community was created around the mill.  The homes are mill type homes, no town, just a convenience store, churches and homes.  Scenic Hwy 11 runs past Fingerville.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
DAM ACROSS NORTH PACOLET RIVER

Oneita Industries – Dye & Finishing Plant – Quality People making a Quality Product.  Out of business, building sits on the North Pacolet River.  Name taken from old sign on building seen from Hwy 11.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
ONEITA INDUSTRIES – CLOSED
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
FINGERVILLE CHURCH – ESTABLISHED 1839
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
FINGERVILLE POST OFFICE
New Prospect, SC

The community took its name from the local New Prospect Baptist Church.  A post office called New Prospect was established in 1837, and remained in operation until 1902.  The community is unincorporated and in Spartanburg County. New Prospect sits at the crossroads of Hwy 9 and scenic Hwy 11.  No town, just a convenience store, produce market, two restaurants on Lake Bowen, and a fire-rescue station.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
LAKE BOWEN SEAFOOD RESTAURANT – 8681 HWY 9
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
PEACH BASKET PRODUCE & FRUIT STAND – CORNER OF HWY 11 & HWY 9
Campobello, SC

Campobello is a name derived from Italian meaning “beautiful field”.  A post office called Campobello has been in operation since 1850.  The population was 502 at the 2010 consensus.  The town is in Spartanburg County, it is a small town, two small blocks of buildings, only a couple of businesses.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
TOWN HALL & A RESTAURANT

Country Peddler Antiques and General Store – they have 3 buildings. The General Store -antiques, nostalgic candies, classic toys, lamps, cards, and the “Hard-to-Find”.  Old Campobello Corn Mill – farmhouse antiques and treasures.  The Diggin’ Barn – place for pickers, rummagers, folks who recycle and re-purpose. 305 Depot St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
COUNTRY PEDDLER

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
VACANT BUILDING ACROSS FROM TOWN HALL

Suches, Ga. – The Valley Above The Clouds

Suches is an Unincorporated community in Union County.  Suches describes itself as “The Valley Above the Clouds.”‘   The local school is Woody Gap School, the smallest public school in the state of Georgia. The historical marker in front of the school lists it as the homestead of Joseph E. Brown, governor of Georgia during the Civil War.

Suches is a small community, they have a Post Office, Community Center, School and Volunteer Fire Department.  The area is beautiful and a nice scenic drive.  A lot of motorcycle riders pass through the area following the Dragon Loop.  Dahlonega to Suches 15 miles north

Cooper Creek Pottery – pottery is in the cool old barn. 28252 Morganton Hwy.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
COOPER CREEK POTTERY

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
COOPER CREEK STORE

Wildcat Country Store and Diner – the store is in a 100 year old building – the store has a variety of things – they also have a campground.  7475 Highway 60.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
WILDCAT COUNTRY STORE

Two Wheels Lodge – Campground, cabins, lodge rooms and restaurant.  The motorcycle loop from Dahlonega goes through Suches.  1915 Hwy 60.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
TWO WHEELS LODGE

Homesite of Joseph Emerson Brown – Joseph Emerson Brown (1821- 1894), born in Pickens District, South Carolina, moved to Union County, Georgia, as a boy. The old Brown home was on the present site of the Woody Gap School, opened in 1941 for mountain students. Brown worked on his father’s farms until he was nineteen, when he went to school in South Carolina. Returning to Georgia, he settled in Canton as head of the local academy. Historic marker is in front of Woody Gap school.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Woody Gap School – the school was built with local timber and stone quarried from nearby Woody Lake.  The school was completed in 1941.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SUCHES COMMUNITY CENTER
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
POST OFFICE
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
CARL GURLEY FIRE HOUSE

Batesville, Ga – and Craftsman

Batesville is a small mountain community situated at the intersection of Hwy 197 and 255 in Habersham County. The settlement was originally named for the Soque River that runs near the area. Batesville is unincorporated.  The following businesses are in Batesville but have Clarkesville addresses.

Mark of the Potter –  pottery shop housed in old Grandpa Watts gristmill on the river. Mark of the Potter has been in business for 47 years. They have 4 potters in-house and they buy pottery from 25-30 potters in the southeastern U.S. – 9982 Hwy 197 N.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

Serendipity Stained Glass –  from small sun catchers to larger glass panels – 10740 Hwy 197

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SERENDIPITY STAINED GLASS

Batesville General Store Restaurant – Established 1904 – store and restaurant. 11801 Hwy 197 N

batesville

 

Memory Lane – features paintings, fiber art, wood carvings, jewelry, rustic furniture, pottery, small quilted pieces, and a mix of vintage and antique furniture. 11937 Hwy 197 N

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

No One Alike – Father and daughter collaboration, they work in mediums of wood, silk, leather and metal.  The building is a working studio and gallery creating handmade artwork, no two pieces alike. – 13430 Hwy 197

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Hickory Flat Pottery – The pottery gallery and studio is in the historic Wikle Homestead.  In the gallery, 20 crafts people have items including jewelry, glass, copper, metal, wood and of course pottery.  13664 Hwy 197

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Sunburst Stables and Zip Lines  – 251 Sunburst Lane

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

Old Gas and Grocery Stores

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
BETWEEN LANDRUM, SOUTH CAROLINA & TRYON, NORTH CAROLINA – COORDINATES: N 35 11 695 & 82 13 535
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
MAIN STREET – MARSHALL, NORTH CAROLINA
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
LAKE LURE, NORTH CAROLINA – N 35 25 852 & W 82 13 645 (above picture)

Texaco station is in Talmo, Georgia – on the corner

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Luck, NC

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
HWY 115E – CLEVELAND, GEORGIA
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
1376 HWY 115E – CLARKESVILLE, GEORGIA
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Fingerville SC – Rainbow Lake Rd

Boiling Springs, NC – A University Town

Boiling Springs is a town in Cleveland County.  The towns motto is the “Crossroads of Opportunity”.  The area was settled around 1843, one of the first buildings was Boiling Springs Baptist Church, built in 1847 about 100 yards from the springs. The little village of Boiling Springs was not well-developed,  it was known as a sleepy community, with no railroads, no industries, few stores and no paved streets,  the town grew in the 20th century. The town was incorporated in 1911.  The Baptist boarding school is now Gardner-Webb University, just recently celebrating its centennial year.  The location of the springs is on Gardner-Webb University’s campus.

Boiling Springs is a small town that has a couple of blocks of businesses.  The University is in the center of town and the businesses and houses are around it.  The larger town,  Shelby is 9 miles NE of Boiling Springs.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
ACROSS THE ROAD FROM THE UNIVERSITY

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Gardner-Webb University –   The institution began as a boarding high school and later became a junior college. Today Gardner-Webb is a thriving regional university with growing master’s and doctoral programs. The school was chartered in 1905.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
GARDNER-WEBB UNIVERSITY

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Boiling Springs Museum – original artifacts from the region, recreations and displays, as well as a photographic history of the Town and its residents. Currently, the museum is open only during select events and by appointment. 109 South Main Street

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
PLAQUE ON THE MUSEUM

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Bostic, NC – Was Lincoln Born There?

Bostic is a town in Rutherford County and established in 1893. The population was 386 at the 2010 census.

Bostic is a very small town with a couple of buildings, a town hall, bakery and museum, there is also a Volunteer Fire Department.  The museum is interesting with a nice lady running it.  The Bostic Sunshine Highway runs through the town.  Forest City is 3 miles from Bostic.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
PORCH VIEW MEMORIAL PARK

Some believe that President Abraham Lincoln was born on Puzzle Creek near Bostic. Historians have him born to his mother Nancy Hanks and took the name Lincoln only after Hanks moved to Kentucky with the then infant Abraham.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
PLAQUE IS AT THE MUSEUM

Bostic Lincoln Center Museum – The museum is in the depot.  The museum has exhibits featuring Abraham Lincoln, who they claim was born in the area.  The evidence is compelling with letters and documents supporting the claim.  112 Depot Street

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
IN FRONT OF THE MUSEUM

Bostic has long been a stop for the CSX railroad to exchange crews. There is a Seaboard Coast Line Caboose placed next to the Bostic Lincoln Museum

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Whistle Stop Bakery and Farm Store – they offer fresh baked breads, cakes, cookies, homemade jams and jellies.  158 N Main St.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
TOWN HALL
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
VACANT BUILDING ACROSS FROM TOWN HALL

Washburn General Store – Established in 1831, the five-generation family business has been handed down from founder Benjamin Washburn. 2426 Bostic Sunshine Hwy

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
INSIDE OF STORE

The National Department of the Interior inducted the General Store, the family estate–built in 1913, a classic wooden barn–built in 1915, and ten other buildings as a historic district in 2002.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
WASHBURN HOUSE CIRCA 1913
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
WASHBURN BARN